Longevity logo

Sweat, Beats, and Gen Z Feats

A Trainer's Journey with the Next Generation

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
Sweat, Beats, and Gen Z Feats
Photo by Chase Kinney on Unsplash

Day 64/366 days of writing in 2024.

As a trainer who specializes in helping people improve their fitness levels, I have had the pleasure of working with individuals from different generations. However, there is something truly invigorating about working with bright and ambitious Gen Z individuals. Their eagerness to learn and their drive to push themselves is truly inspiring in my experience.

Recently, I had the opportunity to take an intern from a local university through a workout session with me. She’s with us at our wellness studio learning this semester. We powered through intense exercises like rowing, jump rope, battle ropes, and bosu push-ups. Throughout the workout, she was amazed at the intensity but also the incredible feeling of euphoria that followed. Endorphins really are a powerful thing, my friends.

But it wasn't just about the physical aspect of the workout. I wanted to introduce her to the world of 90s underground house music. I cranked up the beats to a heart-pounding rhythm, creating an atmosphere of energy and excitement. It was a lesson in exercise and music all in one, and I could see her getting hooked on the vibes. As she’s been observing the last month a lot of the clients have also helped educate on music.

We are fortunate that we are a boutique studio with multiple suites and each suite has its own speaker so music can be very personalized. Some of the clients like genres like 70s rock and reminisce on bands that saw when they were younger sharing stories during the sessions. Some like 80s, some country, and even contemporary jazz. I even have an 80 year old client who requests Benny Goodman so I’ve gotten to learn too. One client and I had a ball going super deep about Old School Hip Hop one day teaching differences between East and West Coast sound and even sharing who our top 5 artists were and why. The young intern hangs onto every word and asks us questions.

What I loved most about the experience when I took our intern through her workout session though was her willingness to learn and try new things. It reminded me of my time working at an art studio, where I had the pleasure of working with a lot of Gen Z individuals as well. We exchanged knowledge and skills, with them teaching me how to dream again and me passing on lessons in confidence and financial literacy.

It's truly enriching to be around multiple generations, each bringing something unique to the table. In my small team at work, we have Gen Zs, millennials, and Gen Xs all working together harmoniously. We all have something to teach and something to learn from one another. I learn every day from my Boomer clients too.

So, the next time you have the opportunity to work with a different generation, embrace it. You never know what valuable lessons you might pick up along the way. After all, we're all in this together, learning and growing from each other. Each generation has wisdom to share. Each generation has knowledge.

Want to try the workout we did? Good luck! Drink plenty of water and make sure to fuel yourself properly before and after. Tell me how it felt for you! I’d love to know.

Circuit 1- Rower 2 minutes level 10, 21s (bicep exercise), jump rope (60 times), pullaparts (with band 50 times) repeat circuit 4 times

Circuit 2- Battle Rope slams 30 seconds, Bosu Push-ups (until failure), Tricep Rope Press (until failure), Blue Band around ankles step touch in place 30 seconds (repeat circuit 4 times)

Want to listen to the playlist? Listen here.

health
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.