Longevity logo

Supplement review

10 supplements that are either worth the money or that you can pass on

By Talara NolanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Supplement review
Photo by Ryan Porter on Unsplash

Like so many people out there when you start really getting into working and fitness, you see a lot of people taking different supplements. If you were like me, once you start going down the rabbit hole it's hard to know what is really necessary. There are supplements for everything nowadays. Once I started getting some I found it was hard to know what I should really do, what I really needed. I started getting so many, too many most likely, and found that I was quickly overwhelmed trying to drink all the different supplements that I had. So here are some that I have tried that I found either helpful or not worth it.

1. Preworkout

If you get one supplement for me, it would be a preworkout. As a person that doesn't drink coffee and works out fasted, I don't think I could do my workouts without it. It's a great way to give you an extra little boost so that you can push yourself harder. The one thing that you need to look out for is that once you start to take it all the time then you may become dependent on it, needing to take it all the time. If you need a little push occasionally, like on days that you haven't slept, then it's a great thing to have in your house just in case. If you have taken any preworkout than you know that most of them have an odd taste, are too strong or give you that jittery feeling. If you are going to try one preworkout and only one, I would strongly suggest Ghost. It is one of the few companies that I have found that taste just like the flavor it says without any of the bad side effects that you can get.

2. Fat Burner

If your goal is to lose weight than I strongly suggest a fat burner. The fat burner above, from Hydraburn, is also great to use a preworkout. It gives great memory clarity. You can also get fat burner in the pill form. For anyone that has a large appetite and is working on eating less, than this is very helpful. They really suppress your appetite so that you have to eat less. I wasn't eating very healthy, overall I had gone off track. And I found that it helped me get back on track with my eating. Though I stopped taking them late at night because I found I would not eat a lot at dinner and then be staving right before bed. So while they can be useful, unless you have a large appetite in general, not totally necessary.

3. Muscle Builder

The idea behind the product is really in the type itself. It is meant to help you build more muscle. If you are a body builder or trying to be one, then this is a great product for you. However, for most people this is just not worth the money. If you are just trying to be healthier, fitter, than just focus on your workout.

4. Hydrate

Hydrate can be helpful to make sure you are getting hydrated, especially during a workout. If you have a problem drinking water or getting enough water, then this can really help you. If that is not the case, then it is just not necessary just drink a glass of water. If you do want it though, the best one that I can suggest is from 1up Nutrition. They have a product that is BCAA, hydrate and collagen all in one. They also usually have a sale going on. So you can get three products for the price of one. And if you are on a budget I would strongly suggest you look into that.

5. BCAA

If you are really working out a lot, then you most likely are finding your body to get sore. I really noticed a difference when I started to take BCAA with my muscle soreness. Again the one I suggest is 1up Nutrition for the value. Though I also like the one from Ghost, that has some great candy flavors.

6. Protein Powder

Almost every fitness person drinks some form of a protein powder shake. What I do find is helpful for a protein powder is that it is a great easy way to add protein into your meal plan. Protein is very important for a healthy diet. Sometimes it can be hard to get all the protein that you need, especially if meat is not your favorite thing to eat. If you are having a hard time then, again I would suggest Ghost as it can be a great easy to digest protein powder. Beachbody has something called Shakeology, which is their form of a protein powder. But I found that I didn't like it. It is expensive and not worth it.

7. Protein Bar

These are similar to protein powder in that they are really made and best for people who are looking for convince. If you find that you are always on the run, and need healthy snacks you can just grab then these are really great. There are so many out there that are great. However, if you are on a budget, then just focus on your overall nutrition. Convince foods can be great for the right type of people, but they are also costly.

If you an afford either protein powder or protein bars, then my suggestion is to go with the protein powder. A great protein pack without the crabs added. Save the carbs for actual food.

8. Glow

Ghost has a product called Glow. It is said to help with skin as well as detoxifying properties. Well there are many people that have tried this product and seen a great impact, I am not one of them. It is a great taste, but not really worth it. I didn't see that much of a difference that was any greater than just making sure I was eating better.

9. Collagen

Collagen can now be found in almost anything and everything. But this is one that is worth the hype. If you can only get a few of these things than this should be one of them. It is clinically proven to have a host of benefits. Like better skin, helps with nails and hair and as well as helps with joint pain. These are one of the products that can really help with soreness after hard workouts. You can get unflavored ones from anywhere, including Costco which has great ones. You can also get some flavored ones from 1up Nutrition. If you take other supplements or even just to go into your coffee, then unflavored will be good. Really they are mostly equal, it's all about what is easiest for you to get it.

10. Gamer

Now for my favorite product on the list. Gamer is a great supplement. I do not drink coffee, but there are days that I need caffeine. I stopped drinking pop as I knew that it wasn't healthy for me. So I was searching for an alternative and that is when I found Gamer. It is a great way to get a boost any time that you need it, it has great ingredients that are clinically tested and proven. And it has only natural caffeine. It is able to give me a boost any time I need it like midday, without making me crash right afterwords like a lot of things can do to you.

Overall I would say that none of these supplements are essential to life or to your healthy journey. Really all you need to do is focus on your fitness and get your nutrition dialed in. There is little that great nutrition can not fix. But these are some that hopefully give you some ideas on things you might want to try or stay away from.

Thank you so much for reading. If you no one has told you today you are enough, and you are appreciated just for who you are.

-T

product review
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.