Longevity logo

Staying Fit While Travelling

100 pushups in 10 minutes kept me lean and joyful in foreign countries

By Dr Mehmet YildizPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Staying Fit While Travelling
Photo by Antonette Marie on Unsplash

100 Pushups In 10 Minutes Kept Me Lean And Joyful In Foreign Countries

All I needed was a 10-minute indoor workout supplemented with a hot and cold shower to stay fit and lean during the business trips overseas. Simple, easy, and powerful. I don't allow myself any excuses.

I travel a lot for a business to many countries in Asia, the Americas, Africa, and Europe. I have a stressful job.

Finding a gym, and more precisely, finding an opportune time to exercise in some countries after a long stressful day was not possible for me. At the end of the day, all I wanted was to lie down and relax. But the mornings were different.

I want my body fit and in good shape. In addition, I enjoy a peaceful and joyful life.

There are always challenges keeping us from exercise. But I found a simple formula for my health and fitness during business travel.

As Brian Tracy advises, I eat my frog the first thing in the morning. Waking up early and being in a good mood is not always easy for me. Priming myself with a pep talk is essential.

Let me share a typical day in my hotel room in a foreign country during my business travel.

I talk with myself; kind of a friendly chat. My first self-conversation goes like this: "This is a new day. I know you don't want to go to work now. I know you are feeling down, but this is temporary. Now get up, stretch, take a brief hot and cold shower. You will feel amazed".

This very simple self-talk creates miracles for me. It starts the energy going.

I jump into the shower. I have a three-minute hot shower.

Then turn the tap to cold water.

I try three minutes of cold showers. Immersing my body in cold water changes everything in my body and mind. An unexpected burst of energy with a sudden rush of cortisol gives a pleasant sensation.

As soon as I dry off the water, I say now is the time to move this body.

I do two minutes of warming and stretching.

I spend one minute to do ten push-ups and do a bit more stretching.

As my body becomes warmed up, now is the time to do 50 push-ups at a moderate speed.

It takes me less than two minutes to complete 50 push-ups. I take a few deep breaths and a minute of stretching.

Now is the third session to complete my routine.

With a little slower speed, I do 40 push-ups in around two minutes.

When I complete my 100 push-ups, I can feel that all muscles get active.

I feel the arm and chest muscles worked out well.

The next minute is twenty squats to activate my leg muscles.

After I spend my allocated ten minutes, all muscles become active. My body feels energetic. All signs of fatigue and morning lethargy disappear. I have a one-minute hot and one-minute cold shower to stabilize my muscles.

I don't need coffee anymore because my body is active, and my mind is clear.

I start my commuting to work. I cannot drive to work in other countries. Most of countries drive on the wrong side of the road.

I don't want to take the risk due to my lack of driving experience on the other side of the road. During my commute, I meditate or stay mindful by observing the wonderful people around me.

I practice compassion meditation by sending love to each person. Each person is unique and has his or her own challenge on this earth. This mental connection with others feels great and gives a sense of spiritual achievement.

When I arrive at work, an incredible sensation covers my body and mind, feeling calm and composed. No agitation from coffee and sugar in my blood as I stay in fasted mode. I love teamwork, interaction with others and contributing to the business.

Team meetings turn to be mindful activity. I feel no boredom or agitation.

With a healthy body and a clear mind, I produce more, help more people, and stay joyful.

A ten-minute investment in my fitness in the mornings makes my days meaningful in foreign countries. 

 Not having a gym is not an excuse to me.

All I need is a two-meter space to do 100 push-ups, 20 squats, and simple stretches.

A shower with hot and cold water is a bonus to ignite more energy.

Thank you for reading my perspectives.

Reference: Simple & Powerful Life-Transforming Bio-Hacks

The original version of this story was published on another platform.

how to
1

About the Creator

Dr Mehmet Yildiz

I'm a writer and published author with four decades of content development experience in business, technology, leadership, and health. I work as a postdoctoral researcher and consultant. My background is at https://digitalmehmet.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.