Longevity logo

Stating the Obvious

Bye Bye Mask

By Heidi BaconPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mask, you are pretty, but we're done

Dear Mask,

I know we've been together for almost a year now, and you truly are amazing! You've been there for me every single time I've needed you. You've held me tight at the most crucial moments in my life, especially at the grocery store when I needed you most. Honestly, you haven't done one thing wrong in our relationship.

When we first got together, I needed you so much! I couldn't go anywhere without you and had to have you all over me all the time. But as our relationship continued, I started to resent you being there.

It's not you, it's me. I think we've gone as long as we can, but I can't bring myself to end it. I hear that constant little voice telling me that I can't leave you yet, even though I've grown SO TIRED of bringing you with me all...the...time. Seriously, I'm done!

Another thing, you muffle me. No one can hear my true voice and your interference has caused some misunderstandings that were completely avoidable. You say you are there to protect me but really, how effective are you? I'm beginning to wonder.

It's such an inconvenience to have you around. I dream of the day that I can kick you to the curb and be done with you, once and for all. And believe me, I'll never think twice about leaving you and I'll never look back. My only fear is that once you are gone, I may end up needing you. If that happens, yes, I'll have to find a replacement, but they will never be able to provide what you have.

I know we've had this conversation before, but this time I'm putting it down in writing for all to see. Consider this your official warning - one day soon, you won't know where or when, you WILL be gone and I'll return to showing my true face, without barriers, and be able to smile again.

I used to be recognized for my true self. Oh, those were the days when I'd walk into a room where people would look up and greet me as the old friend they knew. Now no one remembers who I am. You have come between me and my friends and family. Yes, I've heard from those same people that I should just cut you out of my life and be free once again, that you don't matter and are only a hindrance to my well being. I've had to defend you, even when I questioned and doubted it myself for keeping you so close.

I admit I've had a 'wandering eye' when it comes to flashier and more attractive options, and I've even tried a few others out. I just want to let you know that although I've not always been faithful, haven't I always come back to you? I found out the hard way that the others were even more stifling than you are - hard to believe, but true.

I can see the writing on the wall that you will one day be out the door. Five years from now, I know I won't think about you fondly, if at all. I'd have moved on with my life, free of you and your restrictions, and be back to normal. You've served your purpose in my life and when the time comes, sure, I'd recommend you to others, but I predict they will end up having the same experience that I've had with you. You are who you are, always in 'protective' mode.

This is how I want to end things with you - like a butterfly in my hands, I'll set you free and be able to watch you fly away. I'm just afraid that you will just continue to sit there and never leave. Please, do the right thing and respect my wishes to fly away and leave me unmasked forever.

Yours truly,

Everyone

humor
Like

About the Creator

Heidi Bacon

I love mysteries, twists of fate and surprise endings. I start writing with a concept and I don't have any idea of where the story will take me on its journey so I'm as much along for the ride as anyone reading it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.