Longevity logo

Some may call it fate

Being in the right place at the right time

By Ingrid XiaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Found this on Pinterest. A lyric from my favorite artist Seventeen.

In my previous story, I talked about my first time going to a psychiatric hospital. Looking back on it I have no regrets about the decisions that led me there. On my second day there, after isolating myself all day, I finally got to talk to my roommate. It was bedtime and I was silently crying and my roommate sat next to my bed and asked if I was alright. Being someone who hates to burden others with my emotions, I replied yes I am okay. She however stayed by my side and patiently waited for me to answer her. I finally told her my age and how it was my first time there. She gave me the warmest smile and told me that when she was my age she had her first visit to the hospital as well and that there was no reason for me to be ashamed. We slowly eased into a comfortable conversation where I told her a little bit about myself and how my family is from Guatemala. To my surprise, she told me her husband was half Guatemalan. I was so shocked at that fact because what are the odds of finding a roommate in a psychiatric hospital who has some ties to my background. I admitted that I was also part of the LGBT+ community and she told me she was too. I was so amazed that the universe had placed me in this position. She told me about her experiences and for the first time, I didn’t feel so alone in the world. The universe had many surprises for me during my stay. Previously I had mentioned that I didn’t tell my family about where I was so I was completely alone. I always sat by the puzzles and when visitation hours came I would watch everyone from a distance when friends and family appeared. However, one day a family invited me to play UNO with them. I was hesitant at first but I also craved interaction so I decided to play. The family was so kind to me and also spoke Spanish, it reminded me of my family back home. It had been so long since I had such a warm familiar feeling and I was so thankful to meet such great people. Due to this I slowly started to come out of my shell and talked to a few more of the patients and even attended group! Every visitation hour from that day was filled with joy. The family searched for me every time they came and sometimes brought me snacks. I’m such a pessimistic person I never once believed in humanity as much, choosing to protect myself from the monsters of the world. Although now my perception of the world has changed. My roommate and that family showed me how there can be so much kindness in the world even from a total stranger. They will always have a special place in my heart. Fate is something I didn’t believe in but at that moment it was like everything lined up for me. I may have been in the worst place emotionally and mentally but I was filled with happiness whenever I saw them during my stay. I used to have such a bad perception of psychiatric hospitals but in reality, it was one of my best experiences. There’s such a huge stigma around it due to all of the negative representation in the media but I encourage those of you who need the help to seek it. It does help and there are so many fascinating people you can meet with similar experiences that you won’t feel all alone in this great big world

mental health
1

About the Creator

Ingrid Xia

Hi, my name is Ingrid. I'm kind of an awkward person but I can express myself better in my writings. I hope to write about my experiences and possibly provide insight into mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.