Longevity logo

Smoking

Why I Wish I Never Started

By Janelle OuelletPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Throughout my teenage years, I could not wait to turn 18.

As soon as I turned 18; this meant that I was now officially an adult (At least by the legal standards back in the late 1990s). As soon I obtained a legal identification card, I went to the nearest convenient store and bought my first pack of cigarettes.

I felt that I knew everything there was to know about the world; so when family members and even strangers would scold me for smoking, I just ignored them all and paid no attention.

I started smoking only two cigarettes a day. By time I turned 21,

I was now smoking two packages of cigarettes a DAY. When I woke up in the morning, the first thing I would do is have a cup of strong coffee and a cigarette. This became the highlight of my day. As soon as I had my fix I would get ready for work. By the time I was standing at the bus stop, I was almost through the entire package. I remember standing in sometimes 30 below zero weather shaking in the bitter cold to light up another. By the time I arrived at work, I would have one or two just before my shift started. On my break, I would have another. It didn't matter if temperatures during the winter months dipped below -30. I had to have a least one cigarette or I could barely function. I also enjoyed smoking because it was a social thing. When one of my co-workers went out for a cigarette, I would go just to be a part of the crowd. By the 2005, my addiction finally caught up with me. I developed bronchitis, among other serious health conditions. When I was admitted to the hospital, the doctor told me that if I did not quit smoking soon, I would inevitably die. The first week in the hospital was one of the worst of my life.

I was on the patch and Nicorette chewing gum to ward off the intense physical and psychological cravings.

I literally just about punched a hole in the wall. After a few days, the intense coughing subsided, but all I could think about was how badly I just wanted ONE drag. It was the only thing on my mind.

I could barely sleep or eat, even though food tasted so much better. Two weeks later I went home. Still using the patch and Nicorette chewing gum, I still craved for a cigarette. If I was traveling in a car with family or friends and one of them lit up; I literally had to count to ten and practice deep breathing so I would not flip out. Eating peanut M&M's and brushing my teeth five times a day and support of friends and family became my saving grace. I would go to work feeling alienated because I knew I could not join them to go outside for a cigarette. Through counseling and a lot of willpower I remain smoke-free to this day. Whenever I smell cigarette smoke on someone I heave in disgust at the smell and wonder how I went around smelling this way for five years. I even managed to save enough money to fulfill my lifelong dream of going on a two-week vacation to Maui Hawaii (Would love to visit again soon). I hope that by reading my story, it will prevent others from lighting up and encourage others to quit smoking.

health
Like

About the Creator

Janelle Ouellet

Enjoys painting abstract art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.