Longevity logo

Should We Drink Green Tea

Obsessed

By Abigail BrookePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Does anyone find themselves feeling older than what you really are?

People always tell me that I'm an old lady at the heart. I love to wake up early, bring water to a boil, pour that water into a Japanese tea kettle my sister got me, add my green tea, and watch the sun rise; While I watch the sun rise, my tea wakes my body up and warms my cold body.

When it's time for bed, I pour my hot water into my thermos and let my green tea steep. While I'm waiting for the tea to defuse in my water, I do a quick meditation to relax my mind. Again my tea warms my body, and relaxes me for bed.

I drink tea all throughout my day, all different flavors and in different ways. We all know you can defuse tea into water. But did you know you can steep it in milk too? Yeah its called… milk tea. And the right flavor tea will make you never want to drink just milk ever again. You can also put tea into smoothies and food. Yes even food! you can put tea leaves into really almost any food. I one I love the most... you can put tea into coffee, I LOVE a little bit of tea in my lattes.

So. why drink green tea? For one, I just love the taste of tea, ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you I have a minor obsession (I'm always walking around with a cup of tea in my hand) .

But green tea, alonehas SO many AMAZING benefits. Seriously, after you read the benefits, you'll want to go buy your own tea and start drinking it multiple times a day as well.

Benefits:

1. Improve Brain Function and Mental Performance

Not only does it help keep you awake, but it helps you focus. The caffeine in tea, helps you perform better without increasing your anxiety or getting all "jittery." (Not to mention it has a relaxing effect while simultaneously increasing alertness.)

2. Protect Your Brain

Yes, green tea helps with focus, and alertness but it also helps to protect your brain, helping in long term green tea might assist in protecting against Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases.

3. Burns Fat

Green tea helps boost your metabolism and burn calories and burn fat. It also can also help you lose weight and lower your risk of becoming overweight. (This is why I love drinking it right when I wake up and right before bed, I can burn calories without having to work out!)

4. Maintain a Healthy Cardiovascular System

Studies have shown green tea drinkers have a lower risk of cardiovascular disease. Green tea can help regulate total cholesterol, and triglycerides. It increases the antioxidant levels of your blood, protecting particles from oxidation, one of the causes of heart disease.

5. Lower Your Risk Of Certain Types Of Cancers & Diseases

Several clinical studies have shown that both green and black teas may help protect against cancer.

6. Improve Your Dental Health

Green tea can kill bacteria and inhibit viruses, potentially lowering your risk of infections.

7. Aid Digestion

Some data have shown green tea can aid digestion and improve bowel health.

8. Improve Your Mood and Help You to Relax

9. Maintain Healthy Younger Skin

Green tea can prevent wrinkles and the signs of aging because the antioxidants in green tea are able to fight free radical damage.

10. Live Longer

Drinking green tea can lead to a higher quality life. People who drink green tea are at a lower risk of cardiovascular disease and certain cancers over a period of time.

health
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Brooke

I found this place to get the thoughts out of my head

oh…and I love food!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.