Longevity logo

Rolling into Health

A renewed relationship with skates

By Laura Miller Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Rolling into Health
Photo by Luke Southern on Unsplash

Living longer, healthier and happier is at the top of everyone's list these days, including my own. The pandemic lockdowns have left so many of us overweight and unfit like we have never been before. Gyms closed, hiking trails closed, schools closed, and local parks closed, we were left with literally no options for working out other than our own living rooms. Boredom set in early and the snacks flowed as we watched tigers eat husbands and housewives dine in Paris. The only exercise we got was doing fork lifts and fridge walks as we packed on the pounds. We cooked, we drank and we ate our way through 2020.

A year passed and there seemed no end in sight when the Nation began the slow process of vaccination. As states began to open, gyms with limited capacity filled quickly leaving the bulk of us, no pun intended, sitting in the parking lot with a bag of chips, waiting for an opening and like a pouncing lion, the pounds creeped in and stuck on our hips and bellies like Gorilla Glue.

My local gym finally began to open. So with a whopping extra 50 pounds padding my physic and my baggiest t-shirt clinging to my middle, I trudged off to the gym in the late hours in order to snag a treadmill for some precious cardio. But the dinner hour is not the best time to try and muster that kind of motivation so there were a lot more excuses than workouts. When I was able to force myself to get there, I felt like a fish out of water and would not branch out from the treadmill area. There were so many young and fit people there, it made me feel worse to be in their midst. I lost a few pounds then put them back on faster than they came off. How can I find a way to fit in with the workout crowd. If I don't find something that will help me drop these pounds, my health will continue to suffer and I'll surely leave this world far earlier than I plan to.

The fateful day when my motivation came flooding in. While looking around my social media pages, a post featuring a beautiful, fit and healthy looking woman appeared. This woman had a drop dead body, beautiful glowing skin, and silky hair. She was clad in tight leggings, cool knee socks and a darling tank. On her feet, was something I had not seen since high-school. A pair of roller skates. Not in-line skates but the high top lace up kind with 4 wheels. Her amazing smile sparkled in the picture and envy overtook me. I quickly realized it was my cousin Cherish looking radiant as ever despite some very tough hardships she had endured for several years, and I felt a surge of excitement that spurred me forward.

Roller Skates, I thought. My mind wandered as I pictured myself with those slender legs, flat stomach, and radiant smile, I simply must have a pair. Off to the sporting good store I went. I found a cute pink and white pair. My determination was even further renewed when I found out that roller skating burns a whopping 300 calories per hour and pushes your heart rate too. I vowed to skate one hour each day. I put the skates on and realized, its not like riding a bike and I would need to remember how to balance but mostly how to tell my brain I wouldn't fall if I would just skate. YouTube features some amazing Videos of women my age and not slender who rock their skates and are very good teachers. These women are also very encouraging.

After several skinned knees and elbows, I finally remembered how to skate properly and the fun hasn't stopped. I recommend this activity to anyone regardless of age or stature. My best advice is don't listen to the nay sayers! You CAN roller skate at any age or size. I have skated with over 60's, under 20's and every age in between. I won't tell you I was not intimidated the first few times I went out but, the skate community is welcoming and friendly. We just want to have fun and encourage one another.

Finding a place to skate can be a challenge in some areas but if you're creative, you can do it. Most communities have skate parks these days and there is more than likely plenty of smooth surface to skate there. I don't venture onto the half pipe, but I have seen those my age who do and let me tell you they are fit and having fun. The park down the road from me has a concrete picnic area where I got my "skate legs" back in shape. The tables served as a grab rail and there was plenty of open space for me to glide around once I was stable. Of course, there is always the rink if your area has one but remember to check pandemic rules, hours, rental procedures and ticket prices before heading out the door. Some places fill up and you'd hate to get there only to be turned away after building up so much excitement.

I encourage you to grab a pair of skates and renew your youth. We all have the right to be, do and say what we desire and to live a happy life. Skate your heart out.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Laura Miller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.