Longevity logo

Reset Your Password, Today!

Sometimes Change is Needed

By Ashly Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Created in Canva

Reset Your Password

In our day-to-day life, things can get hectic and crazy, and we must remember to take care of ourselves. Hence self-care and self-love. I know you have heard this all before, but this reminds me that self-care is not selfish. We must take care of ourselves before we can care for anyone else. I have to tell you that this is a true story; it's not made up or fabricated.

You've heard the saying, “ You can’t pour from an empty cup.” The phrase means that to take care of others, we must first take care of ourselves. I was pretty bad about caring for everyone else but myself until I got the wake-up call of a lifetime.

I became very ill back in 2018. I had walking pneumonia and didn't know I had it until I was rushed to the hospital in an ambulance. My lungs had filled up with fluid. I couldn't breathe. I was in pretty bad shape. I was admitted to the hospital and placed on life support.

I was on life-support for about five days. They allowed me to wake up with this huge thing in my mouth. I woke up looking around and puzzled. I didn't know what was going on, they kept me sedated at first, but when I began to sit up on my own and move around in bed on my own, they allowed me to come out of the sedation.

It is now 2023, and I try my best to live each day to the fullest; I still have my struggles and my ups and downs, but I vowed to myself to put me, my health, my well-being, my mental health, my emotional health, and my spiritual health first. I used to take care of everyone else, and I neglected myself.

These days I look selfish to some, I’m not selfish, but now I’m self-aware. I had to take the time and make the necessary effort to change my life. I told myself, girl, you need to Reset Your Password. Once I reset my password, my life changed for the better. I’m much happier than I have been in a long time. I have learned to put myself; first, my thinking has changed, and I try to let Joy be at the forefront of my mind.

My energy is different, and I move differently; I appreciate the new and improved me. I value each day that I am given. I love my life, although there are some things that I’m working on changing. Mostly, I’m happy, healthy, alive, and grateful. Some days I may feel a little down, but most days, I try to stick to the things that make me the happiest.

I have fallen in love with Starbucks Medicine Ball Tea and have one nearly daily. It’s a hug in a cup for me. I love to journal, so I find the time to write or type daily. I love listening to audiobooks, podcasts, and anything motivational or inspirational. It lifts me, and it lifts my spirits. It makes me happy!

My work life has even changed; I bring joy to my workspace. I sing, dance, and hum; I do what makes me happy. My happiness is number one, my health is number one, my peace is number one, and my joy is number one.

Our lives are what we make them; if you want peace, create a place of peace. If you want joy create a place of joy. If you want happiness create a place of happiness. It’s all up to us. We hold the keys to our peace, joy, and happiness. We need to stop giving others so much power over us.

I used to be a people pleaser, but not anymore. I hold my sacred space near and dear to me. You should try it. It will change your life for the better. I promise you it will. Give it a try.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ashly

I'm a free spirit with a heart the size of Texas, I love to write, I love my horses and I love my dogs. I appreciate you guys for reading my stories and I look forward to reading yours. I'm a Life Coach and I love helping others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.