Longevity logo

Random Act of Kindness

The Sweet Life

By Maria AyalaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Random Act of Kindness

My glucometer broke. It broke the Thursday before my birthday. I knew it wasn’t the battery. I knew I had to replace the whole thing. As soon as I put the test strip in and saw an abnormally high number, I knew I had to check it again. After having breakfast, and taking my medication, an hour later, I checked my glucose again. I got an even higher number the second time. I knew at that point, that my glucometer had broken.

I had to call the manufacturer.

I was so disappointed. I had to go through all the hoops and ladders to get a new glucometer.

I couldn’t get an accurate number for that day. As a diabetic, I need the glucometer.

I can’t go longer than three days without checking my glucose.

I called the manufacturer first. It never occurred to me to call my insurance company.

The manufacturer said they would mail one out overnight—didn’t happen.

I called again. They promised me a glucometer in a few days.

I waited. I never got it. Of course, it never occurred to me to call my insurance company.

By the time I did get one, it was 12 days later, and a few days after that, I received a second glucometer in the mail.

Wow. What would I do with two?

When I went to see my doctor, I told him what happened. He got nervous. Right away I noticed he stuttered. His nervousness didn’t make any sense to me, until I realized something. My insurance company would have never approved the delivery of two glucometers. I only needed one. The other machine had to have been purchased by someone: My doctor.

He wasn’t going to tell me, I guess, and I didn’t ask him directly, but I know that he sent me that glucometer. He wasn’t thinking about himself. He wasn’t going to gain anything.

He knew that I couldn’t afford to buy one myself, so he decided to buy me one out of his own pocket. No one has ever gone out of their way just to make my life a little less stressful. No one. He bought me a glucometer out of the kindness of his heart.

I never expected something like that. Glucometers are not cheap. The new ones are even more expensive. I didn’t have a full fasting glucose log complete, but I did have the numbers from April and most of May to show him.

The fact that my birthday was around the corner may have motivated my doctor. I got a belated birthday present in the month of June. I couldn’t see it then, when I had my appointment, but after I left his office, I realized that he must have been the one to order my machine.

My insurance must have contacted him regarding approval of my machine once I had put in a request to the manufacturer. Once the manufacturer called my insurance company for approval, my insurance company must have then called my doctor’s office. At that point, however many days had passed. He must have realized I wouldn’t be able to check my glucose without my machine. I couldn’t afford that machine, and I hadn’t told anyone that my old glucometer broke.

My doctor was the one who knew. He was also the one who cared enough to go out of his way to send me a new machine. He cared. I wish I could thank him. I wish he knew how special I felt. Maybe one day I will be able to show him my appreciation.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Maria Ayala

I started writing poetry at age 12. I am from San Diego, California. My birthday is on May 30th. Please contribute to my blog. I also create videos for the Tom Ellis Fan Page on facebook. Looking forward to watching Lucifer on Netflix!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.