Longevity logo

Pandemic Pounds

Eating our way through quarantine

By Joan GershmanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

29 Pounds! 29 pounds? Yes, you gained 29 lbs. in the year 2020 if you are the average American slowly emerging from quarantine. Very slowly, since you are obviously spending a lot of time in your closet trying to find an article of clothing that will button, zip, or pull on over your newly expanded hips.

This was the news I tuned into one evening a few weeks ago as I sat my tired “walked 5 ½ miles that day body”( more about that later) into my lounge chair. According to this particular news story, we have cooked, baked, eaten, and sat our way through an entire year+ of quarantine.

If you have paid any attention to Facebook, Instagram, and TV news shows, you are aware of EVERYONE, from your next-door neighbor to your favorite celebrity singer, actor, dancer, and entertainer, sharing new recipes they have been experimenting with during their time at home.

Let me be clear about this………..I have seen NO ONE enthusiastically demonstrate a new, unique way to combine lettuce, celery, and kale into a yummy, must eat, tasty quarantine dish. I have, however, seen copious amounts of butter, sugar, chocolate, nuts, raisins, pie fillings, and whipped cream, to name but a few ingredients of choice, made into the most delicious looking, calorie and fat-laden concoctions ever to cross a TV or computer screen.

I have seen FRIED macaroni and cheese balls; bacon burgers……….that would be chopped up bacon formed into burgers and fried in their own fat; someone touting a “healthy” vegetarian dish…………..vegetables fried in the fat that rises to the top of coconut milk when you leave the can of milk in the refrigerator overnight; deep fried grilled cheese sandwiches; carrot cakes that are literally 500 calories per slice, (Obviously the carrots are not the star of this recipe), and so many more artery clogging, hip enhancing, chin addition recipes than I even knew existed.

Anyone who has ever struggled with weight knows that there is also a strong emotional component to overeating. So here we have “the perfect storm”………………………emotional stress from trying to avoid catching a disease that could strike and kill you or your loved ones at any time, combined with the isolation of being separated from friends and loved ones for over a year.

To alleviate the boredom and cope with the stress, we Americans cooked, baked, and ate. A LOT. For more than a year. According to NBC, that accounted for an average of 29 extra pounds per average American.

Explained in this manner, I’m thinking that anyone who gained 29 lbs. got away easy. If it were me before my bariatric surgery (Stay tuned for an upcoming series of stories chronicling my bariatric surgery journey), I probably would have gained 50 lbs. Bariatric surgery or not, don’t think I sailed along unaffected. Throughout the year, my body adjusted to the surgery, as the bariatric team warned us in the beginning. I still get hungry; I still get cravings. I am just not able to eat as large amounts of food as I did before. In order not to join the “Pandemic 29 er’s”, I had to stick to a strict diet of protein, vegetables, low carbs, and as few sweets as I could possibly endure. (Full disclosure – sometimes I failed miserably in the sweet department, but the walking and surgery did allow me to get right back on track.) Along with this eating regimen, I had to walk up to 20 miles per week. This, and only this, allowed me to maintain (notice I did not say “lose” more) my weight.

There is a positive side to Americans gaining enough collective weight to sink the country a few more feet into the ocean. It has been a boon to a post-pandemic struggling economy……….gym memberships have risen; athletic wear is selling off of the shelves; diet programs are enrolling a multitude of customers; healthy cookbooks are selling. And restaurants are reopening to those rare people who can eat anything and not gain weight, as well as to people who don’t care if they gain weight. I see a win/win for everyone.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Joan Gershman

Retired - Speech/language therapist, Special Education Asst, English teacher

Websites: www.thealzheimerspouse.com; talktimewithjoan.com

Whimsical essays, short stories -funny, serious, and thought-provoking

Weightloss Series

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.