Longevity logo

'One Happy Photo A Day Opens A New Pathway to Create More Memories'

A new way to boost my mental health when in isolation

By Lewis JefferiesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Isolation; it can seem like a scary word, and it becomes even more terrifying when it’s the current reality. The ongoing pandemic of COVID-19 is with no doubt making the entire population of the globe anxious and worried. It’s a distressing time, but we will get through it.

A number of things are important during this. Staying home, protecting our health services and saving lives are the top three, because the health services are working tirelessly to ensure they can save as many lives as they possibly can. What’s also high up on the list is protecting your mental health during this pandemic.

The second you let your anxiety get the best of you, the worse your worries and fears will grow stronger, and you’ll feel helpless, alone and gain a load of thoughts you certainly don’t need during this pandemic. However, if you introduce a routine, your mental health strength will rise, become more positive and your overall wellbeing will spike. For me, during isolation, one happy photo a day opens a new pathway. Here’s what I’ve been doing during isolation to ensure my wellbeing remains stable.

Instagram: @lewiisjefferies

Being a uni student, I’m stuck in Portsmouth, where I’m studying for a master’s in media and Communication. In a flat on my own, finding someone to talk to becomes a big struggle. But this is where the power of technology comes in. These days, we’re lucky to be privileged with smart phones, computers HD TV, and so on, which makes isolation that little bit better.

Your friends and family are a quick phone call away or a quick FaceTime session away. Keeping that spark alive is so vital because it breaks that isolation feeling. They’re reassuring you that someone is there to say hello and listen to you. Since we went into isolation, I’ve had so many phone calls and FaceTime calls, which have all boosted my self-esteem. Whilst, as friends we can’t hang out like usual (god I miss going to the cinema every Monday), we still connect together, bond and have a good laugh for a few hours’ multiple times a week.

Those video calls become memories that you treasure, because you will look back on them when this pandemic clears up and treasure them. You’ll hold them tight because you’re thankful that you have such great friends to power you through a difficult time for your mental health and wellbeing. These are the friends you never let go of.

Instagram: @lewiisjefferies

Keeping fit is another vital way to boost your mental health. A thirty-minute workout five or six times a week will take you far. It’s a routine you’ll quickly enjoy and stick to, even if you have a gym membership already. Home workouts are so relieving, and you can go at your own pace.

During this isolation period, The Body Coach – Joe Wicks – is hosting daily PE lessons from Monday-Friday at 9am live on his YouTube channel every week until you need him. Joining in for a fun, energetic workout every morning, will give you that kick to stay motivated for the day.

Once you get stuck into this routine, you’ll soon make a habit of sticking to a workout every morning to prep yourself for a healthy and productive day. Sure, you can still have that lie in (I do!), but the sooner you’re out of bed, had breakfast and worked out, you’re good to go. Since isolation began, I’ve been getting back into the routine of having three meals a day. Always skipped breakfast 75% of the time when at uni, but now that I have that bowl of cereal in the morning, my body is awake and ready to work from home. Stay fit, stay healthy, stay positive.

Instagram: @lewiisjefferies

What’s getting me through isolation the most is looking back at the happiest memories I’ve made so far. I’ve started re-uploading some of my favourite photos as a ‘thread of happy photos to get through these difficult times’ on my Instagram. Each one being different and including family and my closest friends.

Looking at these photos make me smile because I’m proud of what I’ve achieved so far in my life. Remembering I get to live my life with these fantastic people boosts my mental health so much every day as I upload each one. Keeping your friends and family so close during this uncertain time is vital because it keeps you positive and prepares you for that next chapter in life that is coming very soon.

Small memories become the best memories. Make the most of them. One happy photo a day opens a new pathway to create more memories. Cherish every moment.

mental health
Like

About the Creator

Lewis Jefferies

MA Media and Communication graduate from the University of Portsmouth - Massive Doctor Who Fan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.