Longevity logo

Nothing's Ever a Big Deal Until It Happens to You

As we get older the body and mind changes. It usually always goes towards a downward spiral.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I get it, we see ourselves today, and we think we're invincible when we're young. My older friends and family have always warned me that I'll feel the effects of age, but I always ignored them. Life happens too. You start making money and you live a nicer life, and start to forget about some basics that you should really be taking care of. I don't know why this always happens to me, but I don't listen to these lessons until it's too late.

I've received warnings from people older than me for a long time. Your body is going to deteriorate. It's going to be hard to keep motivated at what you're doing. The most famous one was, you're going to get fat if you keep eating like that.

When you're young, you don't care because your body is basically an engine that is constantly working overtime. You don't foresee these things ever happening. This is especially true if you're really active. You love to play sports and work out, so you don't see this stuff happening to you at all.

Me, I've never really been a huge guy, but as I'm almost 40 now, it's finally started to hit me. My body really feels like it's starting to break down. I'm gaining weight like crazy and my motivation has been dwindling. I don't get it at all. I've been doing the same routine that I've been doing back when I was in my 20s and 30s.

I have to admit, I've slowed down a lot during my 30s. My training hasn't been as intense as it used to be, and I go less frequently.

There are some factors that came to this. The obvious one is my age. I find it harder to recuperate in my older age. I notice that foods that I loved in the past just don't agree with me anymore. Friends and family have different priorities, so we go out do drink and eat instead of being active.

Another big one is that I have money to afford things now. I can afford fun things, and to go on vacations. One of the biggest problems with vacations is that you get stuck in a mood of laziness. It's hard to get back into the training path again when you've been taking it easy and eating everything that interests you. Fun things like cars and movies are also a distraction from keeping fit.

One of the worst things is that my tastes get more refined. It's another way of saying my tastebuds have gotten a lot more snobbish. I can't be eating things day in and day out anymore. I get bored of certain dishes, and it can't be bland in flavor either. I remember back in the day it didn't matter what went into my mouth, as long as I was full I was good. Flavor really kills me, because I know the more flavorful the food is the worse it is for me.

All of these are a bad combination that have eroded my health. I'm sure people have told me to avoid these things but I fell into the trap anyways.

The thing is that we don't listen to advice no matter how good it is. We just don't think some of those things will happen to us, because we're invincible when we're young. Even this article will probably be glazed over and ignored, but it's important to change when we're young. It will hit you faster than you think.

Today I think there's a lot of young people that are more health conscious than when I was young. Tomorrow we will probably have a better outlook with health conscious citizens, especially with the internet to help everyone out with their health choices. I just wish I had changed earlier on in my life.

aging
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.