Longevity logo

New Me

My wellness challenge for 2021

By Anthony TerryPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
This is Me

Hello world my name is Anthony. Today I want to talk about my resolution to living a better life in 2021. I wouldn't say 2020 was a terrible year for my health considering everything that went down but there are things I would love to improve on in 2021. If you really think about it our health is a crazy concept. So much of our life while on earth seems to revolve around what we can do to improve our health for a better experience while here on earth. That seems so weird to me that we can focus so much on having a better life on earth that we can forget to just live. We have so much control over how we feel and how well we perform just by what we put into our bodies everyday. Food is our fuel to get through each and every day, if we put the wrong type in we do not run as efficiently. It’s like if you put diesel in your gas powered car it will not run properly. What would happen if we stopped caring so much about food as a form of entertainment and viewed it like an essential part of life that it’s sole purpose is to keep us going. I’m not saying this is the correct way to view food or even the wrong way, I just find it as an interesting concept to ponder. My goal for 2021 is to get to a point where I feel healthy everyday and am excited to get up and move. I do not what to feel weighed down in life by the choices I make, I want everything I do to have purpose.

There are so many different diets and lifestyles people choose to go through to take control of their health. People go vegetarian or vegan, there is keto and intermittent fasting. I am sure there are hundreds more that I do not even know about. I don’t think this year I will actually focus on doing any of those but maybe work my ways towards a new lifestyle and the way I treat food. I think doing a plant based diet would be interesting, hard at first I am sure, but very interesting to try. Maybe even limiting added sugar would help me achieve the level of energy I want out of my body.

I think my first step in this journey to a healthier life would be to improve my self control with intermittent fasting. I want to be able to eat less often and make when I do eat a more meaningful event. I am going to try to start the day off with athletic greens and my home roasted coffee. Then wait until lunch to eat solid food. I also want to try to not eat anything after dinner. This last one will be really hard for me because I enjoy a late night snack. I think just making these few changes will help me change my mindset on food and help me learn self control in my life.

For me eating healthy isn’t about the food or even about the fads in our society. For me it is about being myself and being able to live life everyday and enjoy the little things. I do not want to do a diet that would make me miserable or keep me from enjoying things I love with friends. I also don’t want to forget about my health and wind up miserable not able to get out of bed. There is a fine line here I have found and I want to balance my life on this line of concern and freedom. This year will be a year of change for the better. I hope you will not forget about your new years resolutions and continue to become the better version of yourself you want to be.

diet
1

About the Creator

Anthony Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.