Longevity logo

My Resolution for Rest

My Promise to Myself

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Resolution for Rest
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

As we start the new year, many of us are trying to create new habits and set in new routines. This is primarily due to new years resolutions.

And with everything that has happened in and out of the U.S., self-care is now a top priority for many people, sleep being one of the best ways to care for yourself.

For the majority of my life, I've had trouble falling asleep in a reasonable timeframe. Unfortunately, overthinking and ADHD will do that to a girl. And neither is going away anytime soon.

So, like with everything else in my life, I have to keep my sleep routine structured. And that is hard sometimes. I do have specific cues already in place, though.

One thing I've been doing for a while is drinking hot water after dinner. It helps me make sure I don't eat anything else for the night while giving me hydration.

It has helped me not overeat or eat late into the night, and no, I don't mean midnight snacking either. I often have dinner later, between seven and eight, so the water prevents me from having dessert after nine pm.

It also tells my brain that it's time to start relaxing and get ready for sleep.

Another thing I like doing is reading for about a half-hour to an hour before I go to sleep. My brain can unwind further while enjoying some mental candy.

Another thing I have been doing is turning out the do not disturb on my phone, so I don't hear any of the few notifications I still allow to chime on my phone.

I have it set from eleven pm to my wake-up time, which varies from seven to eight am, depending on the day of the week. It's nice because I know I won't be jarred awake by some random ping in the middle of the night and that my alarm will go off each morning.

If you're wondering how to find it, if you have an android, go into settings, click digital wellbeing and parental control, then set the bedtime mode to your requirements.

It's probably different for other phone types, but I'm sure it's there. So use it. You won't regret it.

Now if only my dog would sleep through the night, I would be set. He sleeps with me and often has to go to the bathroom at random times. One problem at a time, though.

And then there is keeping the majority of the house lights off. I'm more photosensitive anyways, but my body can more easily rely on its natural rhythms for sleep when it's not being constantly charged with artificial light.

But there are other things I'm trying to cement in as habits for bedtime.

One of my goals is to work on my consistency in going to bed at the same time each night. I have a sneaky habit of binge-watching shows later than I should. And I know we're all guilty of this.

I also need to work on waking up at the same time every day. I'm not too much of a morning person, but I know I'm more productive if I wake at an earlier time.

Plus, it feels good to wake up before eight and to be working before ten. Especially since I do all of my work from home, I can complete my tasks and focus on other things after I've finished them.

But my biggest goal is to work on resting without feeling guilty about not being actively productive.

It's been a challenge for some time now. I know a lot of it comes from my mom harping on me to do more around the house. And yes, I do have a tendency to blow some chores off.

However, I've worked on my procrastination a lot over the past year, so many things I can't stand to push back anymore. But now, I have a hard time giving myself a rest day unless it involves me leaving my house to do other things or hang out with friends.

And I might be rolling my eyes at myself as I write this section. I can't help but be a little annoyed with myself about it. It's a prime example of overcorrection.

Oh well. I will find my way back to balance. I know rest days are important for maintaining physical and mental wellness. So, I am going to be committed to my rest goals.

And I wish you good luck and hope that you achieve your goals for quality rest and recovery.

Thank you for the read! Likes, tips, and subscriptions are always loved:)

self care
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.