Longevity logo

My Life with Eczema

Unpredictable and Complicated: Eczema

By Cynthia ClinePublished 6 years ago 3 min read

Unfortunately, I have suffered from eczema my whole life, as well as excessive dry skin, which makes the eczema symptoms exaggerated. On a positive note, I finally feel that at the age of 24 I can manage the unpredictable symptoms of eczema.

Eczema, also known as atopic dermatitis, is an inflation of the skin. Eczema symptoms include rashes, itchiness, dry skin, redness, and peeling. These symptoms range from mild to severe depending on the person. It is not the same for everyone, so it can be years of trial and error to find out what works for your skin to deal with eczema. I have been able to calm my symptoms by finding the right lotions that work for me and knowing what causes flare ups.

Things That Cause Flare Ups

  • Season Changes
  • Fragranced Soaps
  • Perfumes
  • Detergent

Luckily, my mom saw the symptoms at an early age, so she found the right soaps and detergents that don't cause flare ups. I use Dove sensitive skin body soap and shampoos, and for detergent I use sensitive skin detergents and the brands that have worked best are Tide and All. For perfumes I just learned not to spray them directly on my skin so after I am dressed I spray the perfume on my clothes. I do not use any fragranced lotions—although they smell amazing, every time I try one I break out into dry and red itchy skin.

I had a horrible eczema outbreak on my face, and since then I have put extra work into my face, making sure it is clean and moisturized at all times. My daily facial cleanser I use to clean my face in the morning and before bed is Burt's Bees Deep Cleansing Cream. It feels minty and does not dry out my skin after I wash it off. Throughout the day I carry Burt's Bees sensitive skin facial wipes when my face feels dirty or oily. These two products reduced the amount of acne I get and do not cause eczema outbreaks for me. The lotions I have found that work for me are Cerave (the entire line) which has different thickness of lotions, oils, and cleansers. I use Cerave as my everyday body lotion to maintain my skin. If I have a breakout then I will use Eucerin, which has specific eczema products, but it is very thick so I use it when I am showing symptoms to get my skin healthy maintenance.

Daily Products and Beauty Routine

  • Cerave Lotion (Maintenance)
  • Eucerin Lotion (During Active Symptoms)
  • Burt's Bees Sensitive Skin Facial Wipes and Deep Cleansing Facial Wash
  • Dove Soaps/Shampoos
  • Tide or All Sensitive Skin Detergent

When I was younger I suffered through using any makeup products, since it was cheaper, and I wanted to fit in wearing makeup everyday from middle school through high school. I realized I was using more and more makeup to cover up the symptoms of eczema caused by the makeup I was wearing on a daily basis. Once I got out of high school I no longer wanted my skin to suffer, especially my face, which is what everyone sees and I can't cover up.

I stopped makeup completely, and at first, I was mortified since I had acne and redness from the makeup, but after a couple months and cleansing my face regularly, it cleared up! My skin clearing up was a major confidence boost, but in life there are so many occasions that makeup is part of the outfit, so it was back to trial and error for makeup. After trying different brands, I found that I needed to spend a little more money to get a brand that worked well with my skin and the winner was... Clinique! It's a great makeup brand for sensitive skin, and they carry facial moisturizers and oils to put as the base to protect the skin and keep it from getting dry all day.

Eczema will always be a challenge for me since I work with animals and the seasons will constantly change. When I do have a flare up that is unbearably itchy, I unfortunately scratch myself while I sleep, usually leading to bleeding. Since I can't control myself while I am asleep, it is extremely important for me to stick with products I know work for me and to apply lotion on my entire body daily. My recommendation for those who suffer with eczema is to find what works for you and stick with it. When in the trial and error process, it can be rough, but you find what works, it just takes time and some suffering. It took me 24 years to manage my eczema and learn how to handle the symptoms.

Thank you for reading.

health

About the Creator

Cynthia Cline

Lover of animals, food, creation, travel, and binge watching too many television shows.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cynthia ClineWritten by Cynthia Cline

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.