Longevity logo

My 5 Favorite New Moon Rituals

Channel all that good energy from the new moon by trying 5 of my favorite rituals.

By Alexandra PicernePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
My 5 Favorite New Moon Rituals
Photo by Sanni Sahil on Unsplash

The new moon is upon us! Just like it does every month, the new moon has it's phases. One very important moon phase is the New Moon. Now, I know what you're thinking: "Al, we know you live in California, but did you really have to go all 'California' on us"? The answer is, what does that even mean? Well, when it comes to the people who have asked me this genuinely, it's that I'm getting super in touch with reading about how the moon can affect our attitudes and our lives. It's actually pretty eye-opening and I recommend you read into it. However, if you're reading this then I also think you're already aware of what I'm talking about. Anyway, when there is a new moon, I like to do some different rituals. I'm not sacrificing anything or sitting in the middle of my apartment, surrounded by candles and speaking in tongues. A new moon signifies a time for new beginnings and to take a deep dive into our inner selves. If you're interested in trying this out, here are five of my favorite New Moon rituals.

Make a list, check it twice

Now I'm a huge fan of journaling and writing things down, which is why I enjoy making a list of all of the things I am grateful for so far and what I am affirming and attracting for the future. This is a time to set intentions or one intention for the new moon. Find which mantras and affirmations work for you. For example, I always use "I am positive and optimistic about my life". I find that making a list of affirmations and saying what I'm grateful for reminds me of all of the good in my life and in the world. What you're grateful for can even be as simple as coffee or the weather. It's up to you. It's your list.

Burn baby burn

If you're a reader of my posts, then you know that I sometimes light shit on fire as a way to physically get rid of what's going on. If you haven't ready about me letting go, then here is what I did. One weekend I wrote letters, SO MANY LETTERS, to people, moments, memories that keep bringing me down. I decided that I needed to do something that would really symbolize that I was letting go. I grabbed a mason jar, some matches and lit those bitches on fire. It was a moment I will remember as a time where I really felt myself letting go of so much hurt, pain, anger and hostility that I didn't even know I was still holding onto after all this time. I do this ritual even when there's no new moon, but I also enjoy doing it as a way to let go of what's happened in the past month to be excited and cleansed in a way for the new moon coming in.

Think about it

Meditation is a great way to bring in the new moon. There are plenty of new moon meditations out there if you enjoy a guided meditation, or sit with some calming music or even in silence to reflect and be open to what's coming next. I also like to do this when there is a full moon as well. Meditation is a great way to get in touch with your inner self and see what is really important to you in that moment. There may be things lying underneath the surface that you didn't know wanted to come up and out during this time.

Let that sink in

Bath time is also something I enjoy doing during a new moon. I like to get it all set up and sink into it, knowing this is a time for self-reflection and contemplation. I also sometimes watch YouTube videos about the new moon and what's to come. Set your space and bathtub just the way you like it. For me, I like to add a fun bath bomb that I feel reflects how I'm feeling and what I want to manifest during the new moon. I have a friend who uses dried flowers and bath salts. Whatever you do, make it so you feel extremely relaxed and open to what the new moon has in store.

Read all about it

There are plenty of great websites that can tell you everything you need to know about the New Moon and which sign it is entering. It's great to know what each sign can bring with the new moon. It may even surprise you to see what can be up the new moon's sleeve for your sign. It's also great to see how it can affect where your other plants are in your chart. Make sure to check out what the sign the moon is in when it comes to you. If you aren't sure but know your place of birth and time, you can easily look it up online.

spirituality
1

About the Creator

Alexandra Picerne

Just trying to get it together while staying present, mindful, and having fun along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.