Longevity logo

Mindfulness

My happy little strides

By WinryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Picture taken during one of my walks

We all are different and unique in our own way. We have our own ways to deal with anything that comes into our lives. Similarly, the way we meditate and focus varies. We barely think about meditation and walking as something that goes together because usually when we think about meditation we tend to think about it as something we do while sitting down. Here I am going to share my ways of mindful strides.

Taking a deep breath in the morning I make my bed and wash my face. I like waking up early when everyone else is still asleep because silence in the morning feels amazing. But, if you aren't a morning person like me I recommend going to strides at dusk when you can see the sunset. I drink a glass of water before I go for a walk as hydrating yourself is very important. After applying some sunscreen and taking my hat and of course the mask: can’t forget the mask guys because we are still in the middle of a global pandemic, I go out for a stride or a run.

I have set a few rules for myself every time I go out for a walk. A few of those rules include limiting my thoughts about almost everything and not looking at my phone. It sounds ridiculous, right? Especially the not looking at my phone part! Well, I used to listen to music before every time I went out for a stride or a run, however, I soon realized that I was more focused on listening to the song and remembering lyrics than I was on enjoying my presence in nature. But, since lockdown has been in practice, I have come to appreciate even a little interaction with the outside environment as a blessing. I prefer looking closely around the surroundings and enjoy being outside as much as possible. It is the same surrounding as it was before but probably this pandemic has made everyone including me realize the importance of enjoying the moment of being outside, right?

Chest outward, shoulders broad and heads up. I start walking with a deep breath. I see around with every stride I make. I listen to the chirping of birds which makes me feel less lonely while I am walking alone in a greenway. Tall trees around me; tall enough to look like they have reached the sky makes me question myself about the vastness of the universe. Small flowers growing among the several unfamiliar bushes where there are no other similar flowers in the sight..........., small flowers blooming in the middle of the roads where they can easily be stepped down by someone passing through them allows me to see the similarities between those flowers and our life because aren’t we all trying to stand out and be happy? As I am walking, I feel the gentle breeze passing through my skin, trying to wash away all my sweats and pains. I close my eyes for a while trying to sense that breeze passing within me: I don’t recommend closing eyes and walking as you may trip over and fall or hit a tree. When I open my eyes I see leaves moving in the direction of the wind, flowers dancing along with them and at that moment I feel so happy. I feel like I am experiencing nature for the very first time.

I sometimes like to capture the moments I see during my walks such as sunrise or sunsets as shown in the picture above, bunnies hopping around, flowers and leaves dancing around and birds flying. I sometimes post these stories on my Instagram hoping to make my friends realize how beautiful and peaceful it feels being outside. Returning from my walk I reflect on what I saw and how I feel while taking a cool shower. So far I have realized going for a walk or a run has allowed me to de-stress and have some control on my emotions. I hope reading this will help you think of something that makes you happy. I hope that something would help you find the rhythm that brings your mind and body to harmonious sync!!!.

mental health
2

About the Creator

Winry

I write whatever is on my mind!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.