Longevity logo

Mental Health Meditation

With the Coronavirus Pandemic, came shelter in place orders, which then lead to an increase in domestic violence acts worldwide. In these trying times, let's take a step back and remind ourselves what we are grateful for.

By Ramona TurnerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Focus. Breathe. Let go. Let it be. Be grateful. Quicksilver County Park, New Almaden, San Jose, CA. (Photo by Ramona Turner)

Here's a little Mental Health Meditation for you in a modern pandemic.

With the Coronavirus Pandemic, came shelter in place orders, which then lead to an increase in domestic violence acts worldwide.

Suddenly, everyone was home with their families 24/7.

No escape, save for the occasional trip to the grocery store, a walk around the neighborhood or short drive.

Being home, cooped up like a caged animal. Anxiety, fear, frustration, all leading to a boiling over of emotions.

Not gonna lie, my munchin and I butted heads a few times in the second week of shelter in place. He was doing nothing but play video games and making messes -- and not cleaning up after himself. Here I am working my ass off to reinvent my business and keep the bills paid and a roof over our heads and he can't show his appreciation by helping out around the house. With me home, I’m cooking more and spent the first week purging unnecessary crap from our home. He could help, right?

According to him, that's my problem, not his.

Typical.

Parent.

Bitch-fest.

Typical couple’s bitchfest.

Just a typical bitch-fest topic, indeed.

Take a Step Back

Stop.

Sit down. Hands in your lap. Shoulders, face, jaw are relaxed.

Slight smile.

Take a deep breath in through your nose.

Fill your body up 100% with oxygen -- life giving oxygen.

Now, exhale fully through your mouth -- like a sigh or silent scream.

Let go of all the air in your lungs, in your body.

Inhale fully through your nose.

Exhale completely through your mouth.

Last round -- deep breath in. At the top of the inhale, hold your breath for 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.

Open your mouth and let it go.

Then close your mouth and hold your breath for 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.

Breath normal.

Positive Affirmations

Repeat after me:

We are going to be alright

I am loved

I love

I never give up

We are using this time to heal ourselves

I am beautiful

I live a positive life

I am strong

We are using this time to reconnect with ourselves.

I will be a better person today

I use my failures as stepping stones

I am good enough

We are using this time to do all the things we never had time to do.

I accomplish anything I set my mind to

I will help someone today

I inspire others

We are using this time to reflect and realize how truly blessed we are.

I attract what I need in my life

Today is full of possibilities

I love who I see in the mirror

Close your eyes.

Take a deep breath in through your nose.

Exhale fully.

Inhale.

Exhale.

Inhale.

Exhale.

Inhale.

Exhale.

I choose happiness

I manifest my reality

I am grateful

Deep breath in. Marinate in what we just said.

Close your eyes for a moment and exhale the bullshit festering in you.

Inhale the gratitude.

Exhale into peace.

Gratitude

It turns out, my 13-year-old was right. My digging at him to get off the video games an dclean up around here was MY problem. He is going through the shelter in place, just like I am. He doesnt get to see his friend or teachers any more. He is stuck at home with me.

His playing video games online means he stays connected with his friends at at school, as well as meets and chats with new ones. He has good grades. He is a good kid. And when I stay in my lane, he is helpful, willingly, with no rebuff. Just as I ask him what kind of relationship he wants with me for "failing" help around the house, that same question applies to me. What kind of relationship do I want with him when I am being a nag? Just as I tell him not to put his emotions and shortcomings on me when he is feeling frustrated, I need to heed my own advice and not put my anxieties and worries onto him.

We are all going through this.

Your relationship with yourself and others are based on your actions and reactions.

Take a deep breath in.

And out.

And rejoice in what you have.

Now, make a list of what is going right in your world.

Write an exhaustive list.

Reflect on it.

Make a new one each day.

And remember to breathe.

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Ramona Turner

Hi there, my name is Ramona and I am an award-winning journalist, turned self-employed certified massage therapist and single adoptive mom of my zany cousins. Please, join me on my journey through parenthood, business ownership and beyond!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.