Longevity logo

Me vs My Scale

a comical conversation

By Gail S.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Me vs My Scale
Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

Me: Ok, come on now, be nice this one time.

Scale: Well good morning to you too.

Me: You sir, are a liar!

Scale: Am not.

Me: Are too.

Scale: Am not.

Me: If you do not give me a correct reading this time, I am throwing you out the window.

Scale: That’s a little harsh don’t ya think?

Me: I mean it!

Scale: Very well

Me: (gets on and looks down) AAARRRRGGGGHHHH!

Throws scale out window

Fast forward 1 week

Me: Wanna try being nicer this time?

Scale: What does THAT even mean?

Me: I am not playing this game with you today.

Scale: I don’t know what you want from me…maybe try shifting your weight.

Me: That’s just stupid.

Scale: Or maybe...get naked!

Me: NO! I will not get naked in front of you.

Scale: It might help.

Me: NO

Scale: Fine then step aboard

Me: (in shorts and tank top) Steps on, takes a deep breath and looks down.

Throws scale out window

Fast forward 1 week

Scale: OH NOOOO. You are not throwing me out the window again. You chipped a tooth last week.

Me: Yeah, sorry.

Scale: Whatever.

Me: I don’t want to do this again.

Scale: You do realize I am digital right? Not at all like the old one that would lie sometimes.

Me: Yeah I get it, you are accurate.

Scale: (says proudly) Within 2 lbs of your Doctor's scale.

Me: Yeah, whatever.

Scale: Listen, did you know that your clothes weigh at least 2 lbs. You should get naked.

Me: No i will not get naked...I will simply minus 2 lbs.

Scale: alright but it really would make a difference.

Me: You just want to look up my shorts, perv.

Scale: ME? Nope, eyes always forward.

Me: Steps on, looks down and a single tear falls.

Turns scale over and walks away.

Fast forward 2 weeks

Me: I decided we needed a little break.

Scale: You couldn’t even say hello for 2 weeks?? You lady, are heartless.

Me: Sorry.

Scale: I know.

Me: I think we need to talk.

Scale: I agree. Let me start. You do know I only want the best for you right? We have always been open and honest with each other. I know you want me to “fudge the numbers” a little but that is not possible.

Me: Is that supposed to be a fat joke? “Fudge” the numbers. You know I love fudge.

Scale: No offense.

Me: Okay, none taken I guess.

Scale: It really would help if you took everything off. You have to trust me.

Me: Well, I don’t know, maybe. Maybe tomorrow.

Steps back and walks away

Next day

Me: Ok I think I can do this now.

Scale: Awesome! Let’s go.

Me: What if…

Scale: No what if’s, no more excuses and definitely no more out the window. That was just friggin rude!

Me: But I did pick you up and brought you back in. Ya know, I try to like you, I really do. A long time ago you were a friend. You would make me smile.

Scale: I remember.

Me: But over the years we have just kinda drifted apart. I sometimes can’t even look at you without crying.

Scale: It doesn’t always have to be that way. We can rekindle what we once had. We just have to work together. So are we gonna do this or what?

Me: Okay, I guess you are right. It’s now or never!

She drops the robe and steps on

Takes a very deep breath and looks down

Me: WOO-HOO 7 lbs gone! Just like that.

Scale: See I told you. I knew you could do it!

Me: Just what I needed to see. Thank you for your patience and understanding. I will never doubt you or myself again.

As she steps off a little voice whispers:

Scale: I have a confession, I may have, maybe a little bit, perhaps, looked up.

Me: You sir, are a PIG.

Much Love, G.

humor
2

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.