Longevity logo

Joe Wicks Has Saved My Mental Health During This Uncertain Time

Every day I’ve been joining in with Joe’s lively, energetic and heart-pounding PE lessons

By Lewis JefferiesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Shoes laced up, sunglasses on. It’s all a go go. When I first saw about the Mind 27 27 challenge, I instantly signed up to help raise money for the charity, as mental health is something, I hold close to my heart. It’s a real thing. Being a university student myself, I fall into the category of the 27% of students reporting a mental health problem.

In 2016 my depression and anxiety first started getting the better of me before it got progressively worse and uncontrollable. Good days turned into bad days Bad days turned into worse days, and worse days turned into horrific days. However, those horrific days, I do not want to forget. Why? Because I use them as a building strategy. I build upon what issues I had and plan a routine to help beat them should I face those problems again. Since then, I’ve said those brave words “I need help” and have been sticking to my recovery schedule for a year now. Something I’m incredibly proud of.

My Mind 27 27 challenge got off to a flying start and I started tallying up the miles, raising as much money as possible. Sadly, I had to cut my challenge short due to the coronavirus pandemic. Being asthmatic, I followed government advice and self-isolated for two week, meaning the last two weeks of March meant I couldn’t go out to the gym or outside to continue my challenge. Fear not, I had a backup plan.

When the government enforced the social distancing rules, The Body Coach, Joe Wicks, started live 'PE With Joe' sessions on his YouTube channel. I saw this as the perfect opportunity to start making up lost time for my challenge. Every day I’ve been joining in with Joe’s lively, energetic and heart pounding PE lessons, and every day I feel more and more happier, my wellbeing lifts massively and I feel a lot better about myself. Every day, Joe gives us a bunch of tense exercises to keep our bodies pumped, but at the same time he makes it enjoyable for everyone of all ages. From general squats, to bunny hops and ears. He truly does get those whacky moves in. But do you know what I like about those whacky moves? They keep us happy. They keep us entertained. They keep us fit.

With social distancing still in place, keeping that two-metre distance between everyone, I’m delighted to be able to go back outside and continue tallying up miles for Mind as part of the Mind 27 27 challenge, even if I’ve exceeded the 27-mile target. University is stressful, but that’s okay. At the end of the degree comes the golden light that leads you to your future career. You will look back at what you encountered, how you took on the challenge, and how you overcame your problems.

Personally, Joe Wicks has really saved my mental health during this uncertain time. Every day I get out of bed in the morning with just one goal. To complete that workout with the millions of other people joining in with me. Not only that, he has George Ezra’s music on in the background. Get “Shotgun” blasting on the surround sound and you’re all set for your workout. Absolute tune.

It’s been a pleasure to come together with so many people across the nation to raise more than £100,000 for Mind. This is something I will never forget. My message to everyone is to not let fear get the better of you. Don’t forget everything and run, but to face everything and rise.

mental health
1

About the Creator

Lewis Jefferies

MA Media and Communication graduate from the University of Portsmouth - Massive Doctor Who Fan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.