Longevity logo

Jiggling for Justice

Celebrating differences

By Sarah SparksPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Art by Harmonia Rosales

There is not a piece of me anywhere on my body that does not jiggle. I am not a hard body; I am a soft body. Nothing on me "juts" or "cuts"; it is all round and curvy, I do not have hard angles. You cannot see my ribs or my collarbone. I get the feeling when people hug me or cuddle up to me that I am much like your favorite overstuffed cushion. Squishy, soft and warm.

I jiggle when I walk. I jiggle like hell when I run. And I especially jiggle when I dance. I made a small side career out of jiggling on stage as a burlesque dancer. I am a jiggling wonder; it takes very little movement to get a serious jiggle going. Booty-clap? Totally easy... Breast-shimmy? Barely gotta move... Hip sway? Comes naturally!

Now, not everyone likes a jiggly woman. I understand that some of you prefer a "hard body"; a body that does not jiggle or sway. A body that is akin to some sort of rock-like substance. I'm okay with this. It doesn't, however, mean that you need to be rude or cruel to your jiggly sisters (and brothers). If you don't like looking at fat chicks, well... Don't look at them! Doesn't mean you need to open your big yap and make your negative opinion known (something I think too many people feel they have a right to do these days). As my mother always said, if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all!

Furthermore, I have no problem with the non-jiggly section of humanity. I am often attracted to thin, effeminate men, but I feel no need to be mean to people who I am not attracted to. I really think that this day and age we could at least make an effort at accepting each other for who we are rather than putting each other down for our body types. I mean really, it's just kinda childishly stupid and shouldn't we be smarter than that? I am much more than simply a body; I do have a brain attached to all this jiggle (these Double D's have degrees!).

And truthfully, being cruel to me is not going to make me go away. It might make me want to sit on you and squash you but it will not make me go away. I have as much right to exist as any thin person. My body, my shape, and my health are not your concern. Keep any "well-meaning" health comments to yourself. I've heard it all and you have no idea what my health is actually like and what is going on in my life. You don't like being judged so don't do it to other people.

There is nothing wrong with being jiggly or hard or something else. We all come in different shapes, sizes and colours. Perpetuating hate only brings negativity to your own life. I firmly believe hate is bad for your soul and too much negativity is detrimental to your wellbeing. The world would be so mind-numbingly boring if we all looked the same. Diversity is what makes humanity interesting and is truly it's one saving grace. Celebrate what's different about each of us and let go of your hate.

advicebeautybody
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Sparks

Witchcraft poet, neurotic sex symbol, over-educated sadist, and generally only dangerous to herself and a few unfortunate bedmates. Found haunting the halls of academia, frequenting shady establishments and eating candy at home in bed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.