Longevity logo

I Finally Got It Right

We Are Spiritual Beings on a Human Journey

By David GrebowPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
The Author in the Pompidou Centre in Paris

I'll get back to the picture in a moment.

Revelation is unpredictable.

From a very young age I always felt that reality was somehow unreal. It made no sense. There was no rhyme or reason to be here. Here was surrounded by an immeasurable, unimaginably unimaginable, unknowable space. Lots of space. Lots.

Every time I looked at a blue sky, even as a young boy, I remembered that out there in the beyond was a cold and endless black space. Yet here I was looking at the blue sky.

I was taught that I was a human being. I never learned that I was also a spiritual being. Until one day when I was doing the Heart Mediation.

Revelation Number One

You find a quit spot and put yourself into a meditative mind where the "nattering monkeys" as the Buddhists call them - the random thoughts about anything on your mind at that moment - slow down to a stop. The noisy, busy, and usually loud monkeys stop their nattering.

In that quiet moment, you place you hand on your heart and feel it beat. Just leave it there for a moment. Thump. Thump. Thump. Take a deep breath. Breathe in and out a few times. Let the tension and stress from the day slowly melt away.

Then say the following. "I [Your Name] love you. Listen to me [Your Name]. You are perfect. You are always doing your best. [Your Name] you are loved. Forever.

The revelation was that I was hearing the spiritual voice in me telling the human me that I was loved. The human voice is always criticizing and wanted the human me to change, do better, be faster, act smarter, or whatever needs to be fixed.

It was at that moment that I realized I had it all backwards. I was a spiritual being on a very human journey. We all are spiritual beings on a human journey. It's up to us to learn to listen to the spiritual beings voice we all carry within us, even though it is drowned out by the louder human voice.

Revelation Number Two

I'm in the Pompidou Centre in Paris looking at modern art. And I asked one of the guards in my execrable French where the bathroom was. She pointed down the hallway.

As I walked, I looked at the paintings and sculpture of the artists trying to produce new - aka modern - ways of seeing things through their eyes and art. Some moved me. Many left me wondering what they were doing. Being an artist is a hard and lonely path. I gave them all credit on my way to the bathroom.

Then I found what the guard had been pointing me towards. It was the infamous Marcel Duchamp urinal. I stared for a moment until I realized the point the artist was trying to make. The voice of my spiritual being reminded me that any thing and every thing on this planet is a work of art. I am a work of art. You are a work of art. We are all works of art. And that included the museum's urinal.

Rising above the human being allows you to listen to the voice of your spiritual being.

P.S. My human self did finally find the bathroom.

Writing that touches some part of your being is art. Thank you for all your contribution that help keep the words flowing.

spirituality
1

About the Creator

David Grebow

My words move at lightspeed through your eyes, find a synaptic home in your mind, and hopefully touch your heart! Thanks for taking the time to let me in.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.