Longevity logo

I Discovered that Eating Tomatoes A Day can Keep The Doctors Away

Tomatoes are a flavorful fruit that is often found in salads or other dishes. In addition to providing a tasty meal, tomatoes have been found to have many health benefits.

By Elvie LinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Elvie Lins on Unsplash

I am constantly searching and reading information on how to fight my kind of cancer. I have a cancer type called MALT-B CELL LYPHOMA. It was discovered this year in June.

The tumor has been removed and I did not want to go for further treatment like radio theraphy and drug.

So I am sharing my own personal research and if I find it good to share to others to create awareness, I would. I am into healthy eating for years, as well as into fitness where I exercise as an hour a day is important for me.

The antioxidants in tomatoes have been shown to decrease the risk of heart disease and cancer. Along with the nutrients in the fruit, the fiber helps cholesterol levels stay low.

It’s also a superfood. It’s a great source of Vitamin C and lycopene, which have been shown to reduce the risk of cancer, heart disease, and stroke.

They are actually classified as fruit because they have seeds inside.

While tomatoes are often seen as fruit, that is because the tomato plant has the capability of creating its own sugar through photosynthesis.

I do not want to die of cancer.

Every year, an estimated 140,000 people die from cancer. The word cancer may be something too frightening to even think about, it is to me.

I am scared, I trembled and I will throw up and get sick just to think about it, yet it hit me.

Too many people don’t know that many options exist for fighting the disease called cancer.

One thing that we can do is eat a healthy diet. We should try to cut out processed foods and eat a variety of vegetables and fruit each day — including tomatoes!

What is the best way to eat tomatoes? How shall we cook them to get the most nutrients?

Image by Elvie Lins

Sauteeing Tomatoes with Olive oil

Tomatoes are not just a tasty and nutrient-dense fruit to add to salads, they can be prepared in many different ways that will enhance flavor while hiding their acidic tomato taste.

One way is to sauté them. That’s right! Sauteeing tomatoes with olive oil on medium to low heat until the skin breaks.

Tomatoes release more lycopene (a cancer-fighting antioxidant) when cooked.

According to Scientific American, this is because the heat can break down some tougher cell walls in the plant, making it easier for the body to absorb its nutrients. (Source) Isn’t it eating tomatoes a day keeps the doctor away?

Make sure that the olive oil does not smoke the pan.

You can add salt and pepper to taste, but not necessary, wait until it looks tender and serve it as a side dish.

I eat them every single day together with apples and red onions. Tomatoes are part of my daily diet since I learned I have lymphoma.

The other form of heating tomatoes when you are in a hurry is to boil water.

Place cherries tomatoes in a bowl and add the hot boiled water onto it.

Soak for about 2 to 3 minutes and the skin will be softer and easy to disregard when you eat them.

Adding a tables spoonful of good olive oil enhances the flavors.

Wrapping up

Tomatoes are the major dietary source of the antioxidant lycopene, which has been linked to many health benefits, including reduced risk of heart disease and cancer.

They are also a great source of vitamin C, potassium, folate, and vitamin K. Isn’t it eating tomatoes a day keeps the doctor away?

Side effects of eating too many tomatoes

Eating too many tomatoes can cause acid reflux due to excess gastric acid.

If you suffer from digestive stress or have symptoms of GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease) then you should go easy on tomatoes

What is the right amount per day in eating tomatoes?

According to National Health Service, NHS, UK, it is recommended to eat one medium-size tomato or about 7 cherry tomatoes as one portion.

Thank you for reading

Reading source 1.

Reading source 2.

health
Like

About the Creator

Elvie Lins

Hi, I am a professional Photographer and self taught Digital Artist. I write about Travel, photography and life experiences articles or blog. You may like to check me at Opensea https://opensea.io/Elvie-Lins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.