Longevity logo

I Can See Clearly Now!!

We have never lived thru a pandemic, and the most exciting thing is, we can begin to imagine what the recovery looks like

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago โ€ข 4 min read
Like

๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿพ There,

It has been a minuet since we last had a chat in this way. I hope the Rona is not giving you to much grief? If no than, we are both in great company. Despite the over one million people who have been caught in her tentacles, and even worse, taken an L, I am so happy right now, I am not one of them. Yes, to answer you question, quarantine has me, like most feeling some kind of way. On one hand, I have never been so excited to be in the house. I have not been involved in political, community or just ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿ’ฉ in general; BUT then its the fact, I canโ€™t engage with the folks, or just do the things I actually do like, and what little I can do, requires I wear a face protection. May I just right here, tell you how much, I hate wearing face protection? Back in the day, when I worked on construction sites, I use to get countless reprimands for not wearing face protection. Crazy ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜œ thing I would do was keep it close, so when the big shots showed up, I could just throw it on. AGAIN, let me answer you question, Yes I am obeying the rules? When I go out, despite my hating it, I still wear it; but because i hate it so much, It has forced me limit how much I go out, which has had me in the house these two plus months really working on me, which is what I would like to catch you up on.

COVID-19 has for me given me a brand new insight, a completely different view on life. I mentioned once in a podcast, how happy I was. COVID has killed a ton of people, and set even more back, but the possibilities that exist on the other side of this is beyond human consciousness.

Let me start with our seniors, and those with disabilities. Never before have I thought about how many have lived in misery, trying to maintain a life, which is in no way accommodating to their situations; so recognizing it now, I started streaming on facebook, and instagram. My thought process is, since the virtual iron is hot, why not capitalize. I realize soon people are going to try and return to the world they once knew, but for these two groups of people, the world we once knew is more horrifying then this one. So why am I streaming? Well.. Unlike those who are using the virtual ways to keep in touch with those who they hope to once again see physically, I do it, because I know these folks have not, and will not be able to return. These folks have physical conditions which restrict them from social events, opportunities to advance themselves, or just from being with likeminded people.

Letโ€™s Think about it. Say you have an event at 9am; well now the struggle of process begins? More than likely you have a 30-60minuet commute, and you will need at least 10 minuets before 9am to breath, so that means you have to be out the house by 745am. BREAKFAST? ARE YOU COOKING? OR BUYING? Either way its about another 20-40 minuets added so now we are at 7am? S3??? Shower ๐Ÿšฟ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿช’ shoutout to my fellas, then again the ladies want fresh skin too, so yeah thatโ€™s another 60 minuets so 6am. OH SNAP. I almost forgot, sorry mommy and daddy? Letโ€™s give you an additional hour, so now we are looking at a four hour process, not mention they have to be dropped off so yeah thatโ€™s an extra 20 so now ya leaving at 630. Grr ๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿคฌ; but because everything is now virtual, everyone still needs to ๐Ÿšฟ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿช’ because smelling like a swamps anus is just unexceptionable, but instead the hour commute it might just be CHICK-FIL-A right around the corner, or them homies be bout that door dash life ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ”ฅ this is ONLY If ya not bout that red status life though!! BUT STILL 5AM turned into 7am real quick. You know you bout that extra two hours of chill time!!! Kids can go to their room and sign in online, and you can go to yours and have your board meeting. All dressed up from the waist up. JUST DONโ€™T STAND UP, BECAUSE SEEING YA PANTIES LADIES MIGHT REDIRECT THE MEETING. ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜œ.

Finally, the Seniors and those who canโ€™t or donโ€™t use the internet. I have created a chat line via Free Conference Call, so they can communicate in ways they understand. So ya see now why I am hyped, not just about this, but about the future. Well, I have more to talk about, but Iโ€™ll do it later.

FOR NOW, STAY AWESOMESAUCE!!!

- EDB

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿพโ€๐Ÿ’ป Vlogger๐ŸŽฅ Podcaster๐ŸŽ™Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.