Longevity logo

How To Kick Middle-Of-The-Night Insomnia To The Curb

“There is virtue in work and there is virtue in rest. Use both and overlook neither.” — Alan Cohen

By Jillian HornPublished 2 years ago 7 min read

Supported ByLull

Top Story - February 2022
27

It is no mystery that the work of a leader is never done. Whether you are the CEO of your own company, a social media influencer, or a stay-at-home mom, there seems to be a never-ending to-do list attached to your vocation. And, even after you’ve cleared your inbox, swiftly completed all your tasks, or successfully put all your little ones to sleep, the job is not over.

Every good leader knows that they must juggle the balance between the present and the future — achieving today and planning for tomorrow all at once. So, it comes as no surprise when I say that for years, I was a sleepy leader. Between being a full time mom, wife and lifestyle blogger, my schedule is pretty filled up and so is my mind. Even when it’s time to catch some z’s, my brain refuses to hit snooze.

But sleepy leaders, mommies, and creatives are less effective at their jobs. When you trade away sleep in order to work more, you are less able to inspire others, and can easily become grumpy or impulsive. And, of course, sleep deprivation leads to a plethora of health complications, and undermines creativity and innovation. So why on earth aren’t we prioritizing rest?

If you’re anything like me, then you’re probably sick and tired of tossing, turning and staring at your social media feed in the middle of the night (especially when social media is part of your job). For the longest time, I was going to bed, falling asleep for a few hours, and then waking up doing everything I possibly could to fall back asleep.

I knew I needed to make a change but had no clue where to start. I’d replaced rest with productivity for so long that I’d lost sight of what that would look like to me. My first step to kicking middle-of-the-night insomnia to the curb was to come up with a plan. What did rest look like to me? How could I achieve it? And, what tools was I going to need to ensure I got quality sleep? If you’re asking these questions too, then luckily for you, here is what I came up with:

Don’t Be A Lone Superhero

You do important work. And, while you are great at it, you can delegate certain tasks to others. Many of us sleep-deprive ourselves because we’re not willing to share the workload with our colleagues, spouses or even children. For many of us, this means getting over our own egos. We often tell ourselves that we must do these tasks, because nobody else can do them as well as we can. Addressing this problem may require trusting other people’s abilities and letting go of control. But trust me, it is worth it. Don’t drown yourself just to keep the world afloat.

Invest In Your Bedroom

If this isn’t already clear, good sleep equals a healthier you! I cannot emphasize enough how much your bedroom impacts your quality of life overall. This is exactly why you should invest in the best products. Whether that’s silkier sheets, essential oil diffusers, or a premium quality mattress, don’t be afraid to splurge! We spend a third of our lives sleeping, so there is no reason why we shouldn’t be sleeping on the best bed for ourselves.

For me, the most important thing to invest in was a mattress — specifically the Lull Original Mattress. This mattress offers an unparalleled sleep experience. Not only does it come at an affordable cost, but it’s packed with top-tier technology. The Lull has 6 incredible layers that combine premium memory foam and individually wrapped coils to create the bed of my dreams. The material is soft, yet structurally made, and the feel of the mattress itself is firm yet cozy. Best of all, you can sleep well knowing that the Lull Mattress is made with non-toxic materials- an absolute must-have for me!

It was so easy too! Lull makes the buying and delivery process so simple. I ordered my Lull online and it was shipped and delivered to my door in a week! There were no extra shipping charges or added hassle with the delivery. It arrived in a box on my doorstep and 10 minutes later, my bed was ready to go! All I had to do was cut off the protective plastic that kept the mattress rolled and watch it expand in front of my eyes. I loved it! I was a little nervous that a bed in a box wouldn’t be that comfortable but boy was I wrong! I laid down and instantly fell in love.

The first night sleeping on my Lull Mattress, I slept like a baby—I didn’t wake up once. It was amazing. I woke up feeling so well rested which hasn’t happened in such a long time. I was a little shocked to be sleeping that soundly right away. After endless nights of tossing, turning, and waking up in the middle of my sleep, this was such a relief. Now, I can’t seem to bring myself out of bed! It’s truly one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Say Buh-Bye to Caffeine

This is a tough one, I know. Coffee, soda, and caffeine filled teas are just a temporary bandage for the slew of issues a lack of rest can, and ultimately will cause. In simple terms, caffeine blocks the signals that tell our brains we need sleep. But it does not actually address the physiological needs which can only be met with sleep. Essentially, caffeine masks the problem of sleep deprivation rather than solving the problem

Moving forward, use your caffeine consumption as an indicator of your need to reprioritize sleep. If you feel you MUST use caffeine to make it through your morning without feeling sluggish, that should be a major red flag that you are just covering up your problem of sleep deprivation. If you feel you MUST use caffeine again in the afternoon, that should be a second red flag. Each red flag thrown on the pile should increase your urgency of getting better rest.

Set a Bedtime Routine

Take the plunge to a more meaningful step in the right direction. This requires asking an important question: When should I call it a night? When should I stop working for the evening so I can rest up and be at my best tomorrow? And, when should I put my electronic devices on Do Not Disturb? Once you’ve figured out these important factors, set the wind down routine that works best for you. Whether that’s addressing your skincare needs before bed, finally catching up on that book that’s been sitting on your shelf, or doing some light yoga, take some time to be mindful before lying down.

Keep a Sleep Diary

Even if you think you’re getting enough sleep, you may be surprised once you see your sleep patterns in black and white. From now on, even if just several times a week, take note of your sleep patterns in a journal.

  1. Write down the time you go to bed and the hour you wake up.
  2. Determine the total number of hours you sleep. Note whether you took naps or woke up in the middle of the night.
  3. Note how you felt in the morning. Refreshed and ready to conquer the world? Or groggy and fatigued?

Not only will a sleep diary give you important insights into your sleep habits, but it will be useful to your doctor if you think you are suffering from a sleep disorder.

If you follow these steps and get in bed early enough each night to get well rested, you will be more effective in all areas of your life. Moreover, you’ll be happier, healthier, and a better version of yourself in every sense of the word.

Hopefully I’ve convinced you to make a change, and never settle for poor rest again. A little change like substituting your afternoon coffee or a bigger change like upgrading your mattress can help you achieve greater sleep. Something we all need. If you still are on the fence, I encourage you to give Lull a try. Lull offers a 365-night risk-free trial so you can sleep on your new mattress for an entire year while deciding if this is the right fit for you. Right now, you can save $300 on any size mattress! You can’t go wrong!

product review
27

About the Creator

Jillian Horn

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Sleep hygiene is so important. No screens before bed. No caffeine after 2pm. No drinking alcohol either. Investing in a brand new bedding set back in June was a godsend. $1500 AUD best spent. Thank you so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.