Longevity logo

How Punching Bag Exercise Helps Me To Stay Healthy

Sustain Mental and Physical Fitness Training Using a Punch Bag

By Dharan MuraliPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
How Punching Bag Exercise Helps Me To Stay Healthy
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

Workouts can get boring if we are doing the same type of movements daily. To make my workouts more fun, I incorporated the punching bag exercise. My passion for health and interest in learning self-defense skills led me to do this exercise. I train on my punching bag regularly and I am reaping great benefits from it. Today I will be sharing those benefits.

Before we start, I would like to say that I am neither a physical trainer nor a kickboxing champion. I am just a simple man who works on maintaining a basic level of fitness and good health.

I got inspired to care for my health through some yoga and self-defense experiences. These experiences gave me a fair bit of sensible knowledge that I look forward to sharing with my readers.

I guess you might be thinking what is my rank in yoga and self-defense skills?

Though I agree that ranks are good for monitoring progress, I do not validate my progress with ranks or colored belts anymore. I have failed several times defining success these ways, which humbled me and made me think outside the box.

When it comes to defense in times of danger, I believe it's “intellect, intuition, instincts and some guts” that tag along.

To put it simply, I am always a beginner in rank when it comes to learning, and right now I only have a black leather belt that I bought for my birthday.

Okay…let’s talk about my exhilarating experiences on another day and move on, to the benefits of punching bag exercise.

Here are some great benefits of punching bag exercise……

Good Cardiovascular Exercise

I realized it raises my positive mood each time I throw a punch, “bam…. bam…bam!” This “outburst of energy” encourages me to throw more punches, with short rest intervals.

Short rest intervals help to burn more calories, improve blood circulation, improve breathing and increase stamina. I usually work on my punching bag from ten to forty-five minutes.

Good Warm Up and Cool Down Workouts

Before I start my regular workouts, I would spend about ten to fifteen minutes warming up using the punching bag. It helps in pumping blood all over the body and gets me ready for my workouts.

After my workouts, another ten more minutes of punching, helps me to burn more calories, relaxes me and grants me gratification in completely a great workout.

Improved Reflexes

I developed good reflexes. I was able to move fast and my body became more flexible. My muscles get a good stretch whenever I hit the punching bag. This helps my body to be less susceptible to injuries.

Great Indoor Workout

It is a good cardio workout for those who like indoor home exercises.

Full Body Workout

Punching bag exercise works on the arms, chest, shoulders, back, core and legs. It may not assist in building very huge muscles but works on maintaining a lean, fit and healthy physique. It helps to maintain the muscle mass.

We should know that muscles do not melt away quickly like ice cubes. We lose muscles when we stop using them. Punching bag exercise activates all muscles and puts them to good use.

Self-Defense

Punching bag exercise not only helps in meeting fitness goals but grooms our self-defense skills. Over the years, I learned that when it comes to improving self-defense skills, it is good to research, learn and practice consistently.

The four types of punches we could work on, are straight jabs, cross jabs, hooks and uppercuts. We can practice a specific punch or practice the four combinations. Throwing some elbow and knees moves or some favorite kicks spice up the workout!

With consistent practice, physical speed and power increase gradually. We will be able to move and react fast when we encounter life-threatening risks.

Body Awareness

Punching bag exercise aids us to be more aware about our body. It unravels our strengths and limitations in the body. Through body awareness, we will be able to sustain those strengths and convert our limitations into strengths.

From the punching bag exercise, I learned that a human body is able to achieve its maximum potential through consistent training.

What To Do When There Is No Punching Bag?

Do shadow boxing. We can always learn many techniques from online channels and trained professionals to groom our skills.

If we are on an overseas trip, we could do shadow boxing in the hotel room as part of our daily workouts.

Remembering A Great Martial Artist

While writing, I remember vaguely Bruce lee words, “visualize your worst adversary standing in front of you when training.” Another one is, “relax, gather all your strength, focus your mind on the target and then hit.”

We should learn to be relaxed and calm in times of adversity so that we are mentally clear and focused on working towards our goals.

Just like stepping forward to throw a punch, we should step forward to overcome adversities and achieve our goals.

I trust this article would be useful in building a healthy lifestyle. Nonetheless, it is always good to consult trained medical experts and physical trainers to learn deeper before starting any exercise regime. This would help us to limit injuries and improve overall fitness and health.

A strong body leads to a strong mind. Stay healthy.

Thank you for reading my insights.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Dharan Murali

💫I'm a couple & family therapy trained social worker, writer & spiritual aspirant. I write from my empirical knowledge, life lessons & spiritual experiences.💫

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.