Longevity logo

How I've been coping whilst Shielding

Shielding 101

By Lauren RosePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hello Everyone;

How are you all doing? I hope you are keeping well and safe!

I thought in this blog I would give you a little more insight of my recent few weeks and what I've been doing whilst i've been shielding from Covid-19.

At the end of February I received a letter from NHS England informing me that I am at risk of catching Covid due to my Skin condition and my Diabetes. I got on the phone to NHS England because I thought it was a scam or that I had recieved this by accident but I hadnt, the letter was meant for me. NHS England had informed me that they had done more research and they had found that people with Diabetes are at a higher risk. This got me thinking about the amount of months that I had been putting myself at risk whilst I worked through the whole thing.

I then phoned my new employer and explained the whole situation and they have been amazing with the whole thing, my new employer was the one that mentioned that I should follow the instructions of NHS England and Shield, My new employer wanted to make sure that I was kept safe, which I appreciated. I was actually meant to start a the new job at the end of Feb/ beginning of March, but that now has to be put on hold until the end of shielding which is meant to end on 31st March.

Since I am at home all of the time I am finding it hard keeping my Mental Health stable. This is because I have no stability, I have no order as I have nothing to do. Thankfully after the first week of lazing around and not doing anything I have gotten myself out of that and made sure that I am doing a few things per day to keep my mind active and making sure that I am keeping myself busy to ensure that I do not slip back into not doing anything. These things could include:

- Cleaning/ Deep Cleaning

- Baking

- Knitting

- Puzzles

- Cooking

- Earning a little £ by doing Surveys

There have been many days where I have gotten out of bed and went to do a certain task that I had set for that day and not done it. I never realised that not working work 2 week is draining, which to me doesn't make any sense. I don't feel myself, my body clock is wrong, I've never felt lost being at home all of the time, being indoors and not being able to do the normal things i used to do.

Not being able to go to work and make a living, not being able to communicate with others face to face is something i've always done and not being able to do that on a day to day basis is hard for me at the moment. It is going to be a struggle getting back into a work routine again but I cannot wait. I cannot wait to work those long days again, I actually cannot want to come home from work and complain about my feet hurting and just feeling normal. Only 2 more weeks to go! I can do this!

I have gotten into a routine of making sure I am awake by a certain time each day, ensuring that I eat in the mornings, which is something that I haven't always done. I make sure I complete one task in the morning/ early afternoon and then complete another late afternoon/ evening. This has helped me manage my mental health because it means that my mind is always stimulated and not overthinking about things that i don't need to be overthinking about. I make sure I know what I am doing for the next day so I have a week logs of what I am doing each day and I have also picked out what I eat for dinner eat day for a whole week.

Being able to keep track of what I am doing each day is proving good, this is because if I miss something one day I can ensure that I either change it to another day so I do an extra task or ensure that It is done at the end of the week on a Sunday, which is normally my rest day. I make sure to give myself at least one day a week where I am not doing any tasks and don't set a time to get up. This is being Sundays are normally my days off from work, so ensuring that I keep that in my routine is always a good idea because this means that when I finally go back to work I will be able to stay in routine.

Can any of you recommend any more activities that I can do at home?

I hope you are all keeping safe.

- Lauren

health
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Rose

27 years old

Ex - Foster Parent

Stories of struggles, Some that I have overcome and some that I am still facing today.

Some of my stories are about the skin issues i am having. I hope to help others better understand Hidradenitis Suppurativa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.