Longevity logo

How do you view your food ?

Here’s my personal experience having a plant based diet

By jerimiah WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Jerry’s life with plants

I was eight years young when I first found out about a plant based diet. Living in Virginia with my father and my step mother I got to eat both plant base and meat. My father then started to feed me veggie patties, and don't get me wrong sometimes they don't really taste good, well maybe now they would taste amazing since your taste does change, but back then they didn't taste good coming from an 8 year old kid. After my time was up in Virginia I then headed over to Jamaica which I really do miss. As a kid it was the coolest thing I've ever done and had an amazing experience. But to get back on track I started going back to eating meat again. I ate aki, dumpling, salt fish, and plantain as well as fish, curry goat, rice, beans, beef cheese and chicken patties. So yeah my diet shifted. I was healthy. I could only recall getting sick one time. As it was time to leave Jamaica my diet shifted again. Going back with my step mom I still ate meat but I was also eating plant based. I don't know but Virginia and Jamaica are always calling for my name or more like my spirit. I feel like the land and the nature is within me like connected or as if we are magnets. I was about ten when I came back to the US and I got connected with nature as well as getting some sun. I really connected with the universe during those times and eating both diets made me really energetic. I was always outside with a group of people either playing some type of game, riding bikes, skateboards, chasing deer and playing manhunt. And now to think of it, maybe that's why I had energy and was in good shape. It's because of how I was taking care of my body and eating. When I came to Pennsylvania my diet went south. I was going out to eat every other Friday , and eating processed and junk food. I did this for about 8 years straight with having a cooked meal once in a while. I gained weight and was very insecure about how the shape of my body looked. I would always ask my mom how to lose weight and she told me to do sports. Now I didn't listen to her the first time. As I moved up grad levels out here I started to get more exercise by just playing and being active. Recess for school in 4th grade showed me how fast I was , like crazy speed. 7th grade started playing football all the way to my senior year. As I got to varsity I got injured a lot or cramped up due to me having a poor diet. Not hydrating gave me a terrible performance and eating processed food killed my endurance. Suffering knee injuries, swollen ankles, and hamstring issues put me out for some good parts of my career. The summer preparing for my senior year I was in the best of shape and not even at my peak. I also hydrated more which made me perform at a level where I'm able to push myself. For that whole summer I went vegan and vegetarian all the way till march. When I started track is when I started to eat meat again but not how I used to. Actually eating cooked meals with it but also eating out. When June was at its end is when I started to get back into plant based as well as keeping track of how much water I drink. I've started running, learned how to jump rope and found the love and passion for it, started my youtube channel that has to do with health, herbs, fitness, herbal supplements such as vegan protein powders and a vegan diet. To see my content go check out my instagram @jerimiahantoni and youtube @sonjerri. Also you can email me if you have any questions i will put them in my videos as well to also pass the info to others. One of the most amazing things is how people go from obese to being healthy and in good shape. Especially for the people who have the balls to face their insecurities and go to the gym. I respect that because I see that they are trying to make change. My journey continues and I'm thrilled to see what comes along. If you watched my videos or checked my instagram you probably have seen what i look like. I encourage you to try a plant based diet if you wanna see change. It changed me for the better mentally, spiritually and physically. I'm shooting for longevity and staying with a plant based diet. I can't wait to see how many people I motivate into changing their lifestyle just by going plant based. It's just something that is genuine. Hearing that you impact someone in a positive way is like getting gifted with 777 million dollars. I really encourage you guys to try a plant based diet for about 30 days and see your results. Don't be afraid to email me @[email protected]. If you have any questions and as always stay blessed, and always be you

diet
Like

About the Creator

jerimiah Williams

Fitness

Nutrition

Herbs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.