Longevity logo

Glow Up Already

Glowing up is hard to do but here are a few personal tips.

By Julia AlfredPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Second Place in Glow from Within Challenge
8

It’s been two years since I’ve been empowered with the knowledge that what surrounds us is simply a reflection of what’s going on within us. For some of us, this knowledge is not comprehensible to us then or now and therefore we lean towards negative factors to give us the boost we need which ultimately would lead to a dependency syndrome. I am glad to have made it out of the extra-personal phase and developed a relationship with self which is basically what I refer to as "glowing up".

The fire within us can burn bright if we know what to feed it. Here are a few things that I find set my fire ablaze.

Morning Glory

I find that waking up a few hours early does make a big deal in your life; but that also means heading to bed a few hours early. So if this is completely crossing the line for you I get it. Trust me! I do an hour earlier than my expected ‘rise and shine time’ and I hit play on the video below. I may do some chakra balancing meditations if I feel up to it but I do not miss my morning affirmations. Does it work? Maybe. Affirmations might just be the mental version of your typical dream board and I find is it puts me in such a great mood to start each day.

I find affirmations to be quite powerful and you can do them anytime throughout your day. Remember, when you believe it you most definitely will achieve it.

Reading

As one of the verses in the bible goes.

"As someone thinks within himself, so he is. " -Proverbs 23:7

Although not an avid reader of the Bible, I do take to reading as it happens to be a favorite pastime. To an onlooker, I probably do glow upon observation of me with a book of interest. Again, not your cup of tea? I get it. Three quarters of the people in my life find it a torture but the joy I find in getting lost in a story is worth every penny I spent on acquiring it.

A favorite book of mine is below. Do not watch the movie, it is a sham. Trust me. But if you do have time to spare, give it a read.

Art

Another leisurely activity that lights me up is creating art. I love colors! I love creating pictures I envision in my mind and watching them come alive with the swish of a brush or pencil. It’s even better when I have music playing. Since everyone isn’t inclined to drawing, what I can suggest is coloring or painting. There are so many DIY art around such as adult coloring books and paint by numbers which you can find at any Walmart, bookstore and Amazon or ebay. Art is a form of therapy that comes highly recommended so why not get you some?

Music

Now this I can go on about forever. People are always amazed at my music knowledge and taste. We all listen to music, even if not as religiously as yours truly, we all have that song we can't help but tap our feet or sing along to. It is surely food for my soul and a definite pick me upper in times of need. Below is my current go to playlist. A mix compiled with a few songs that get me going.

Beauty Routine

Of course being a female, I do love indulging in the occasional beauty routines. I don’t live in make-up daily due to my work from home privileges but when I do get the chance you bet your last dollar I will get dolled up. I spend less than 10 minutes applying make-up and I may only be following the few tips and tricks I learnt from Youtube but it works for me.

My beauty routine also includes face masks and moisturizers. I love face masks and the one I found to be quite soothing with results was the Sephora brand linked below. It smelled great and did wonders for my pores. Sadly, it is extremely costly and that was the last time so since then I have been using the Aztec Secret and it works just as well.

Winding Down

Before I sleep at night I try to get in another 20 minutes or more of meditation to calm my mind for a good night’s rest. It’s relaxing and really does help you unwind, maybe even equivalent to a glass of wine without the after effects of a dry mouth.

Aside from all that was detailed above, there are more subtle things that give the inner me glee, such as long walks in nature after I’ve taken a two long puffs on my inhaler, sitting anywhere in the proximity of flowing water, massages which have been halted due to COVID-19, laughing with my other half and family time. I’m sure there’s more I can add to this but as of right now these are the little things that helps me get my glow on each day.

how to
8

About the Creator

Julia Alfred

I am a born Dreamer leading an unbelievable life.Encountered people who match the villainous and heroic personas we read about in stories & done things I would surely do better.

A penny for my thoughts is worth it.

Visit Cathartic Whispers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    I missed this somehow. I have a friend who always encourage me to do all these things. If you believe it, you can achieve it. You should repost this somewhere. It is so relevant and beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.