Longevity logo

Getting Back Together with Gym

Easy Ways to Get Back into a Fitness Routine

By Megan MescoPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Life can often take some crazy, unexpected turns which can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle. Maybe you've moved to a new area or have gotten a new job. Whatever it may be, it has totally thrown off your life balance. In the past year-- I've moved twice (to an entirely new state), started a new job, left all my friends & family, and ended a long term relationship. Needless to say- all of this made a huge impact on both my mental health & my physical health. I stopped going to the gym (used the excuse I was too busy or was still getting used to the area) and wasn't eating as healthy (so many new restaurants & takeout options to try!). But, finally I started to realize I needed to get back into a good routine (and my pants weren't fitting anymore).

Here are some tips to get you back together with Gym:

1. Start out with something easy! You don't have to push yourself to the limit right when you start back up. This could lead to injury or deter you from going back. Try walking before your run again or using lighter weights. Trust me, I know it's hard not to go straight back to where you once were. This is how I ended up with an ankle injury and setting myself back even more! Patience is key.

2. Pick a schedule that works for you! By starting out with only a few days at week at shorter intervals it will help you build up to your goals. For example, try starting out at three days a week for about 30 minutes. Or commit to taking short walks throughout the day to get you started. Getting up and moving is important!

3. Find a gym that you're comfortable at! The fitness community can be intimidating at first. But, it's just that a community! Find a gym that has like-minded individuals as yourself. Then you'll want to keep going back. Maybe this is going to Crossfit, barre classes, or just your standard gym! The hardest part for me was thinking that everyone in the gym was judging me and my fitness level when really everyone there is encouraging you to be your healthiest self!

4. Find an accountability partner! Someone who you know enjoys going to the gym (or already goes) or someone that is looking to start working out again as well! Having someone that texts you in the morning to make sure you're up. "See you there!" Texts can be a huge motivator. Then you have a buddy to stop and get smoothies with after working out!

5. Sign up for a few personal training sessions! I thought I had a great routine working out and would see the same results that I used to and boy was I wrong. I started working out once a week with a trainer and he has taught me so many new things! And we have a lot of fun talking & catching up while he's training me.

5. Give yourself a goal! Figure out what it is you want to work towards. This might just be getting back to where you used to be or something completely different. Sign up for the 5k or half marathon you've been wanting to do! Get down and dirty doing an obstacle course race! Try out a Crossfit competition!

6. Try to make it about more than just the number on the scale. I found the hardest thing for me was staying at the same weight and not recognizing that I was getting stronger and building endurance. That number can be a huge mental block-- so if it is for you like it was for me, get rid of the scale! Or at least move it out of your immediate view for the time being.

Lastly, remember how good it made you feel! It helped boost your confidence, gives you those happy endorphins, all the extra energy, and all of the other benefits! Getting back together with Gym can be hard but in the long run you'll be happy you did it. I've feel better each day after the gym. But, I'm not saying it'll be a perfect journey. I've definitely had some ups and downs but isn't that what life's all about? Overcoming the obstacles and enjoying the ride?

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Megan Mesco

Perpetually running late. Northern transplant masquerading as a Southerner. You can find me out adventuring with my dog somewhere. 📍TN

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.