Longevity logo

Get Off the Scale and Pick Up Your Phone to Lose Weight

Stop scrolling, and start using your phone to influence yourself.

By Katie BrozenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Hannah Xu on Unsplash

Ever look at an old picture and think, "Damn, I look good there. I wish I looked like that now"?

It's inherent to be critical of ourselves. Obsessive over every flaw, imperfection, only seeing what needs change.

When you look back, things always look a little different.

Your Phone is the Problem AND the Solution

Social media makes it worse. We scroll through the highlight reels of people's lives and become inspired to follow their journey. We forget it's only part of their story.

But you can become your own influencer. You don't have to worry about anyone else seeing it or making comments. It's only for you. It's your own unique story that will motivate your results.

How I Became My Own Influencer

A couple of years ago, My body was in the absolute worst shape it had ever been, at least that's how it felt. I tried following the crazy diet trends - please don't ever drink butter in your coffee for breakfast, you will not lose weight. I did all the manic workouts where you want to die when you're finished. I saw no results.

I was committed, but my efforts felt worthless.

When you feel like crap about yourself, it can be scary to document it. You know it's the truth, but a photo forces you to accept it. It's like we don't want to face the truth until we've fixed it.

I reluctantly joined a workout app, encouraging you to take photos of yourself each week. Their Instagram was flooded with success stories that were too promising and I was too desperate. I tried everything else, why not this?

I Hate Photographs With a Passion

I pick apart every flaw and imperfection, micro-analyzing everything I hate. So to take a photo of myself half-naked, at a time where I already "felt fat" was painful.

I still remember that day, and still have the photo. I felt the absolute worst. I was bloated, tired, no make-up, no shower. This was the most imperfect moment.

Is it a Progress Pic if You See No Progress?

Every week I stood in the bathroom mirror, and religiously took a photo of myself in nothing more than a sports bra and leggings to snap a photo.

It didn't feel like a progress picture, because I saw no progress. I was in complete doubt of the program and its results.

Another gimmick, I quickly jumped on to change what I saw.

The workouts were so hard. My body was so sore. But nothing was changing.

To be fair, it had maybe been a month. Somehow, I stayed committed and kept taking photos.

I stopped looking at other people's photos and focused on my own. It became about more than just what I saw, but how I felt. It wasn't the accomplishment of finishing a hard workout but the sense that I committed to something I was so reluctant to.

Eventually, I got bored and gave up the workout. My fitness program varied, with different classes, apps, and at times nothing. But I kept the routine of taking half-naked photos regularly. Whenever I start feeling a little lost in the process, it always brings back my motivation.

Finding Consistency and Results.

Even though I still had moments where I felt bad about my body, having an actual picture was physical proof reminds me it is not true. If it was, then it was possible to get back to a place that I had already been.

I found this most helpful when the Pandemic closed my gym and left me with only at-home workouts. It's hard to find motivation when you don't have the expensive gym membership or a workout buddy motivating you. When the world is in chaos, getting yourself to do 100 burpees just isn't going to happen.

The best thing I learned is that you don't need extreme diets and workouts to get where you want to be. You only need consistency.

A constant photo reminder is the best tracker of your results. It's a feature that already exists on your phone. All you have to do is become your own influencer.

weight loss
1

About the Creator

Katie Brozen

Professional chef. Sharing stories, secrets, and recipes from behind the line of a professional kitchen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.