Longevity logo

Fibromyalgia and Your Gut

One Sufferer's Story

By Amanda KimberleyPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

The gut and Fibromyalgia is a very important topic for sufferers because many doctors are linking the two. The research is still too early to determine a definite link, but there's little doubt in my mind that if our gut is cranky, then the rest of the body will surely follow your gut's lead.

When I first became introduced to the term, leaky gut, 12 years back, I really grew unsure of what to make of it. Many of the articles made a good case, but I became leery of the research because of it still being in its infancy and I wanted to see where this research would lead before I started on any medication that might potentially cause other issues for me.

My frustrations with my eczema, anxiety, bloating, gas, and heartburn grew to more severe issues where it became hard to function normally. I even started having issues with my hormones and prescribed on the pill to help alleviate symptoms of heavy bleeding and hot flashes. When I'd ask family, friends, and doctors what might cause this sudden change in me, I was told it was age. I accepted that at first until my then four-year-old started having the same issues. Obviously, old age had nothing to do with it for her LOL!

About five years ago, my youngest daughter had an allergic reaction to high fructose corn syrup and grew an intolerance to wheat. I determined this as the proverbial last straw for me to see her suffer as greatly as me and I grew determined to find out what caused me and my family so many recent health problems. We all had never been this sensitive to food ever in our lives so there had to be something making this issue so pronounced at this point in all four of our lives.

I started reading and researching stomach issues online and found that many of the antibiotics, birth control pills, alcohol, and even certain foods kill off good gut bacteria and can cause tummy troubles, skin rashes, panic attacks, fatigue, and bloating. All four of us experienced many of these symptoms but I personally experienced them all for several years now.

As I researched further, I realized that one doctor linked this issue with leaky gut and suggested a solution as simple as taking a probiotic and eliminating some major food culprits that can cause inflammation in the gut.

There are many triggers that can cause inflammation, but I will only discuss the two giving us problems because they are not as obvious as junk foods like refined flours and sugars are. The two foods I will discuss are garlic and onions.

Many of my regular Fibro and Fabulous readers know that my grandmother on my mother's side was Italian and cooked all the typical Mediterranean dishes. Almost all of those dishes called for garlic and/or onions as a flavoring for the dish. Growing up, I had been exposed to both but in moderation because my mother cooked typical American dishes at home. It wasn't until we lived with Grandma and prepared her meals full time that the exposure to garlic and onions became a twice a day regimen. This exposure to these fresh or freshly cooked items reeked havoc on my stomach to the point where I had severe gas, bloating, and heartburn.

So after my last straw moment of taking my youngest to get her stomach X-rayed, I decided to try an elimination diet for the entire family and found that garlic and onions actually hurt us rather than help us.

The change in diet did not instantaneous help, but within a couple of weeks, I noticed a significant difference in bloating, gas, and heartburn with us all. Both garlic and onions are supposed to help the body fight off the bad bacteria, however, if your body has not been producing enough good bacteria you run the risk of becoming inflamed and that proved to be our issue all along.

We are all currently on a pro and pre-biotic regimen and only consume onions and/or garlic about 1-2 times a week and we are all feeling much, much better! One thing Grandma always taught me was to have everything in moderation. I truly believe this to be true! And I hope this article helps you on your research journey into what might be hurting you and your gut.

Stay fabulous!

diethealth
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Kimberley

Reader, Writer, Blogger, and lover of great food.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.