Longevity logo

Fibro Fog

Brain fog

By Johnny SixPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

When someone has fibromyalgia, they will experience numerous different symptoms. Not just pain & fatigue. One of the issues I find to be most annoying is what's called fibro fog. With fibro fog, you can't think clearly, focussing on tasks is extremely difficult. My brain feels like a scrabble bag. All the letters are jumbled up. Trying to find the right words, phrases, etc, is difficult. It can easily take me a few days just to write one article. When having a conversation with someone, I need to top what I am doing and just focus on that one conversation. It can be daunting. It is so frustrating trying to speak with someone when you know what you want to say but just can't form the words.

It's easy to forget simple things. When I am cleaning, cooking, doing anything and I have someone helping, I find myself asking them "Can you please get the thing out of the thingy over there please?" Meanwhile, I will be pointing to either the oven, cupboard, etc. My family has become accustomed to my way of speaking and thinking. I can't tell you how thankful I am for that. My family understands and is patient when we are speaking. They help me form the words I want to say. I do have moments when I will cry because I get so frustrated with the fibro fog. I know what I want to say, but forming the words is so difficult.

Many patients with fibromyalgia have difficulty concentrating, finding words. Everything can be very confusing. It doesn't happen every day, but it does happen quite frequently. I have found that when I don't get enough sleep, the fibro fog is at its worse. It's not often that I do get enough proper sleep. About 3 out of the 7 days I get a good night's rest. Obviously, that is not enough. Unfortunately, with fibromyalgia, sleep is not a very good friend.

When out in public, or on the phone with someone who doesn't know what I and any other deal with, it's nerve-wracking. The looks and comments I get are plenty. I have been asked what is wrong with me many times. Trying to explain is no easy task. When I am able to explain, some people understand, while others act like I'm faking it or that something I seriously wrong with me. I have grown accustomed to this.

The main thing to try and accomplish to prevent fibro fog is getting the proper rest. With fibromyalgia, rest and sleep do not come easy. I, as with most fibromyalgia patients, have a hard time getting to sleep at night. Our bodies hurt in ways that most can't relate to or comprehend. Constantly waking up during the night, the tossing and turning. The lack of sleep makes fibro fog worse. We can't sleep at night because of the pain. Trying to get comfortable is a chore. Once I do get comfortable, I will sleep for maybe two hours and that's pushing it.

Dealing with fibromyalgia is difficult enough. Throw in the brain fog on most days and forget it. Having the fibro fog makes one feel depressed, overwhelmed, anxious, you name it. I try so hard to stay focused. On the good days, I feel as though I can accomplish anything. I cherish those days. I miss being a quick-witted and fast thinker. I miss being able to carry on a conversation without having to think of words to say. What is important to remember is that you are not alone. Have faith in yourself and patience. Take your time, don't rush. Those who matter don't mind and those who mind, don't matter.

mental health
1

About the Creator

Johnny Six

I'm a devoted stay-at-home mom, passionate about alternative education and homeschooling. My daughter is my focus, and together, we explore various hobbies,cooking, art, nature, reading, and music. https://helsprintsandthings.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.