Longevity logo

Exercise Challenge (Pt. 7)

The End of One Month

By Michelle FrankPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Waldo County YMCA entrance

The first month of my challenge is over and I feel great!! This is the first time in my life that I have purposefully exercised for a month straight. Sure, I take a day off each week but I still move around my house on those days unless I am in too much pain to move. The pride I feel in myself for sticking with this is overwhelming! I am starting to notice tiny changes in the way my body looks. My double chin has shrunk, my waist feels a little bit smaller and my muscles feel stronger. I love that I am able to notice these changes in just one month! With that being said, here are the last few days of the month of January!

Day 29

The hallway leading to the locker room at the YMCA

Day 29 of 365 days of exercise challenge: Since today is Tuesday, it is my first day of the week to go to the YMCA for swim. Before swim, I got in a little over 2000 steps by grocery shopping at 3 different stores. When I got to the Y, I walked 6 laps (1/2 a mile) around the track, then did 20 minutes of stretches and warm ups in the therapy pool before doing the hour aqua aerobics class. To say my body is aching would be an understatement, but I am not going to let it stop me!

Here is a video from after my workout...

I had a hard time moving by the time I was done with this workout. I soaked in the hot tub after swim class and it eased my muscles just enough for me to get home and collapse for the rest of the night.

Even though I was in immense pain, I started something new on day 29. I changed my eating habits. I didn't need to make big changes because I already ate healthy but I did change a few things...such as....

Salad and a banana for after swim snack because I am always hungry after swim!! Going to start my smoothie routine in the morning. I am going to have a smoothie for breakfast then have a salad and fruit for lunch and a regular meal for supper. Time to really start eating better!! For tonight, since I am done eating and have sat for a few to let it digest a little bit, I am going to head to bed because I am worn out!

The next day, however....

Day 30 of 365 days of exercise challenge: I decided to take it really easy today as my entire body was aching when I woke up. The only exercise I have gotten today is 176 steps around the house and light housework. Instead of taking Sunday off, I will do my light workout.

I began my healthy eating routine on this day, beginning my day with...

Healthy Eating

My first smoothie of the year

So today was the start of eating a whole lot healthier. For breakfast, I had a spinach and fruit smoothie. For lunch I had a salad of lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, green pepper, onion, chicken and egg. I had four crackers with a slice of sharp cheddar cheese and a sprig of grapes for snack. For supper, steak, boiled sweet potato and asian medley steam fresh veggies.

Healthy snacks

Between eating healthier and exercising more, I truly believe I will have this weight loss challenge in the bag! I am eating smaller, more frequent meals/snacks, but much healthier meals and snacks. My final day of exercise for January was a trip to the YMCA again for swim class.

After Swim Class on Day 31

Day 31 of 365 days of exercise challenge: Today I went up and down the stairs four times while doing laundry. Then I went to the YMCA with my sis where we walked six laps around the track giving me a total of 3,370 steps, exercised in the therapy pool for 45 minutes, then did our hour long swim class. For dinner tonight I had a single Lean Pocket and a small salad. I will have a fruit cup for dessert.

This first month of exercising has shown me that I truly can do anything I set my mind to, and so can you! If you struggle with your weight loss routine, maybe try this challenge. It is really helping me and I am sure it can help you too!! Get up, move around, even if it's just for 10 minutes at a time to start. You are moving and that is the point! If I can do you, you can do! Have fun with your journey of getting healthy!!

diet

About the Creator

Michelle Frank

I'm a mom of 6, grandma to 2 and a wife of 16 yrs and counting. I have been to hell and back several times and have survived it each time thanks in large part to my husband. When I write, I do so from the heart and from personal experience.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michelle FrankWritten by Michelle Frank

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.