Longevity logo

Ego and Missed Opportunities

Pride Always Goes Before a Fall

By Vikki Conley IkardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What drives you? What drives your soul? In this world, everyone has different things that drive them and their happiness. Some people want money, some people want ego and status, some people want love, some people want family, some want it all, and some don't know what they want. It is a question worth thinking about so your life plan comes to fruition. It is important to teach others what you have learned in this world without them necessarily having to go through the fire themselves to learn. I have seen so so many missed opportunities due to one not being able to put their pride and/or ego to the side. The Bible says that pride goeth before a fall. And it does. So many people do not know what they want. What they do know is they care about appearances and how something "looks" to others. For example, some people want to be a big fish in a small pond where everyone knows their name, and some want to be a small fish in a big pond. Me? I've never cared too much about everyone knowing my name as that alone unless you become famous doesn't pay any dividends! I am just being honest. I think a great deal of people just look around and blindly follow like sheep and end up at a destination. Nah- life only happens once and for me that is simply not enough. I tell my son all the time (as men are visual creatures and they can't help it by nature), to be smart. THINK. His forty year old self will thank me later. Maybe the skinny girl with the long hair really doesn't have anything to offer but shallow, superficial looks and material things. Looks fade and money definitely comes and goes. He acts like he is listening intently so we will see as the proof is always in the pudding! I know I get on his nerves as he is only 22 right now LOL. In this world, we all need somebody to help us at various points in our lives. My pride has been put to the test so so many times over the years while raising my son. If you cannot ask for help, making it in this world is going to be a lot harder than it has to be. And always be thankful for those with the good hearts that are left in the world. Some may look different than you but they know what darkness feels like. If the people you think that should be helping can't or just won't, you MUST find your tribe of people. I have moved several times over the years and with each move I would always think 'yeah, but I don't know anyone'. Let me tell you something- the Lord has sent me some really good people to help me along the way. Once you make it out of the storm, try not to let bitterness take over your heart (and you are going to want to treat people how they treated you which always wasn't so good). I pray every single day about that. And turn around and helps someone else out of the darkness- we are all just trying to make it through this world the best way we know how. I used to ask the question of the Lord- 'Why'? 'Why Me?' and he answered me saying that I will know soon enough. You are not always going to like your assignment and the human side wants what it wants but the Lord does know best on all things.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Vikki Conley Ikard

I am a person who believe that each one should teach one. Never leave those who come after you to learn by the 'trial by fire' method. Be who you needed when you were younger. I am from a divorced mother of one son who is now 22.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.