Longevity logo

Drinking and Driving: My New Love ❤️

How green tea benefits us inside and out: all about the health benefits of drinking green tea every day.

By Richa KharePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

It's 6:30 am, soothing music in my ears, one hand on the wheel, feet on the accelerator and a steaming hot cup of Green Tea in my other hand. Yes, having green tea while driving my kids to school in the morning is my new love (what did u think 😉).

Having heard about the numerous benefits of green tea, I've wanted to try it for a long time. But almost everyone advised to have it empty stomach and being a long time thyroid patient I have to take medicine first thing in the morning and can have anything only half an hour later. By the time, that half-hour gets over, it's time for breakfast because hunger takes over. So even after buying packs of different brands, I never could have it regularly.

After almost six months of lockdown, schools finally opened at the start of September. Getting up at 5 in the morning after so long was soooo difficult. The first day was exciting because schools were opening after a long time and the kids woke up without an alarm! It was more difficult for me though.

I could hardly keep my eyes open, then suddenly remembered about forgotten green tea bags. After a quick search, found them deep inside the cupboard and then prepared according to instructions in a takeaway thermos cup. Had it slowly all the way to the school (27 km one way). For the first time, I enjoyed green tea! I savored the taste which previously I found hard to swallow 😀

So now green tea has become a part of my routine and for the first time, I experienced the benefits it offers which everyone raves about 😍.

Deciding to share my experience of green tea with everyone, I sat down to pen down this post.

Noticeable Changes In My Body

1. Improved Digestion

The first change which I observed on the second day itself was a lightness in my body. Earlier I used to feel bloated the whole day even after my morning exercise (gyms closed due to lockdown). Now after having breakfast, within an hour I felt a rush of energy instead of feeling the need to lie down for a nap. I could do all my chores without feeling exhausted.

By lunchtime, I felt hungry too while before I could never feel like having anything in the afternoon. But skipping lunch meant snacking the whole day which wasn't healthy. I ended up consuming more calories throughout the day. But now I enjoyed a healthy lunch of veggies and dal with roti.

So this establishes the fact that green tea boosts the metabolism of the body.

2. High Energy Levels

I was doing my morning exercise routine for the last many months after the lockdown, at home. But every day I used to feel tired by the end of a typical 25 min workout which wasn't even so heavy as I was used to doing at the gym. I even used to skip some of the steps just due to lack of motivation and hunger pangs.

But after having green tea in the morning in the car, when I came back and started my workout, I felt more energetic and flexible (ok ok maybe I felt flexible because of energy because couldn't find anything on the internet which says green tea increases flexibility).

3. Better Mood

Since I did not feel bloated and tired, my mood improved and could enjoy the day with family and kids. No more shouting and scolding kids for small things (actually a lockdown side effect 😀). Felt happy from the inside and could do everything on time because didn't procrastinate due to a lack of energy.

4. Reduction in Tummy and Waistline

Within a week I could see a noticeable difference in my tummy area which was otherwise very stubborn. It might also be the effect of regular 6/7 rounds of Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation) or a combined one. Surya Namaskar itself deserves another post which I'll be writing soon.

Scientific Research Facts about Green Tea

Enough of my experiences, now come down to some established and scientific facts of Green Tea.

Some other benefits are:

1. Contains Healthy BioActive Compounds

On account of being less processed than black tea, antioxidant properties are retained in Green Tea. It's also rich in polyphenols which are natural compounds that have health benefits, such as reducing inflammation and fighting some cancers.

So it's more beneficial than black tea because of the processing.

2. May Improve Brain Function

Studies show that green tea contains just the right amount of caffeine, to activate and stimulate our brain without disturbing our natural sleep cycle. So, it can be had throughout the day without fearing sleepless nights.

3. Increases Fat Burning

Green Tea increases the metabolic rate of the body hence fat burns effectively after including green tea in our life.

4. It May Lower Risk of Cancer

Research is still going on to establish the relationship between drinking green tea and a reduction in cancer-causing cells. But many studies show that people drinking green tea regularly have a reduced risk from some the cancers like Breast cancer, Prostate cancer and Colorectal cancer.

5. May Reduce Bad Breath

The catechins in green tea have oral health benefits too and they fight plaque formation and bad breath throughout the day

6. May Help You Live Longer

Because green tea helps in fighting some cancers and prevents you from heart disease so naturally, it helps you live longer. This property alone should be enough to motivate everyone to go for that cup of green tea because who doesn't want to live longer!

How Much and When to Drink Green Tea

Green tea works best when had on an empty stomach, but experts believe that it can be had throughout the day in small quantities. Special tea infusion bottles are available in the market in which there's a separate compartment for tea leaves and warm water. The tea infuses with warm water and keeps releasing its flavor and properties in the water slowly and it can drink for hours.

How To Have Your Cup

There are many flavours and brands available in the market so you can choose according to your taste and budget. I personally like Mint flavoured tea bags by Twinings. It's recommended not to add anything but you can add lemon and honey if you like. Never add sugar or milk, it'll destroy the taste as well as its benefits.

So, whenever you crave something to drink, instead of reaching for that sugar-filled juice or milky 'chai', go for the energy drink called green tea.

Happy drinking friends 😊

health
Like

About the Creator

Richa Khare

Writer at heart and blogger by passion I love to write about various topics like Health and Wellness, Travel, Books, Kids etc. When not writing, I can be found playing with my two kids and three cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.