Longevity logo

Downfalls High (Real Experience)

The recent short film released by MGK entitled "Downfalls High" hit me close to home. Here is my real life story of love and loss.

By Rebecca Loretta ArbicPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The year was 2007. I was a typical fifteen year old girl. I went to school, I hung out with my two best friends Kyle and Stephanie every day, and my life was on the right track. In the summer of 2007 the three of us were inseparable. Stephanie and I were friends since we were ten. I met Kyle when I was twelve years old. We had lost contact with Kyle for a few years up until High School. We had reunited and became the Three Musketeers. Nobody could come between the three of us.

In the summer of 2007 I had started to develop feelings for Kyle. I mean who could blame me? He was so handsome and kind. He was always there for me. There was just one set back. I was not the most attractive girl around. Kyle was different though. Kyle was special. He didn’t look at me like the other boys did. He was repulsed. He definitely cared about me. We had a connection that I have never felt to this day, nine years later. I was to shy to tell him at first but after several chats with Stephanie I decided to make my move.

I had phoned Kyle up one night after school, December 3rd, 2007 to be exact and decided to confess my feelings. I recall rambling on and on about how much I loved him. I must have sounded ridiculous. I was unsure what Kyle would say because unlike myself he was very popular. After a few minutes of silence he had said exactly what I wanted to hear. He told me that I was the bestest friend he’d ever had and he was in love with me as well. I nearly fainted, I just couldn’t believe it. We decided to meet up before school the next morning and walk in hand in hand to show everyone our love. I went to bed that night the happiest girl in the world.

The next day I got dressed very early and made sure I looked my best. I walked to school and waited out front. To my dismay Kyle didn’t show up. I thought perhaps he was running late but when he didn’t show up to our first class I begun to feel very upset. Had he changed his mind? Was he ashamed of me? Kyle didn’t show up to school that day. I remember walking home with my head down filled with misery.

When I got home I decided to pick up the phone and call him. There was no answer. Sighing in defeat I hung up the phone and made my way to the bedroom. Before I reached my room I heard the phone ring and I sprinted back to the kitchen. I answered the phone and was very surprised to find Kyle’s father on the line. I had told him I had just called and was wondering if I could speak with Kyle. All his dad said is “You need to come over here right now.” My heart stopped. I didn’t know what had happened. Was Kyle in trouble? He had gotten into trouble a few times before. I put on my boots and ran like a track star across town towards Kyle’s.

When I reached his street I saw flashing lights and panicked. I stopped dead in my tracks, closed my eyes and prayed. “Please let him be okay.” I said to myself over and over. I slowly made my way to Kyle’s house and found myself lightly knocking on the door. His father answered and had tears in his eyes. He let me inside the house. Kyle’s mother was leaning against the counter sobbing. I had asked what happened. Kyle’s Father told me that Kyle’s brother Ryan had came home from school and heard the shower running. He went in to see what was going on and found Kyle. Kyle had been in there all day. I told his Dad that I was confused. He looked at me and said that Kyle didn’t make it. Those four words destroyed me. The rest of the night was a blur but I’m told I was taken home by some grief counsellors. That night I cried myself into hysterics. The love of my life was gone. He was ripped away not only from me but his family, his friends, his life, at fifteen years old.

It was later discovered that Kyle had died from a heart defect he didn’t know he had. The next few days were terrible. I was completely numb. I remember Stephanie and I crying non stop everyday. On December 7th it was Kyle’s Funeral. Stephanie and I had decided to go together. Before we went one of our friends came over. He was trying to make Stephanie and I feel better. I remember the three of us standing outside in my yard and our friend was recounting how Kyle used to pelt him with snowballs at random times. The minute he said this, out of nowhere, a snowball fell from the sky and hit him right on the head. I knew then and there that Kyle was still with us. That single miracle helped me make it through his funeral.

Experiencing death at a young age is never easy. We haven’t grown up yet and we haven’t developed proper coping mechanisms. I think this is why it’s taken me years to try to move on. I felt like it wasn’t fair for me to move on because Kyle wasn’t going to be moving on. It just wasn’t fair. I still ask myself to this day, nine years later how this could have happened. Why was fate so cruel to take the life of a fifteen year old boy who hadn’t even had a chance to live?

One year after Kyle’s death I had became a total recluse. Stephanie and I were no longer friends, in fact we still haven’t spoken in nine years. I think the pain of Kyle’s death was just too much for the both of us so we parted ways. I had no friends at all, I had dropped out of high school and I rarely left my house. I just could not deal with it. My parents were constantly worried about me. One day I met a woman who would start me on my path of recovery. That woman was the high school guidance counselor Mrs. Welsh. Sometimes I think she might be a real angel. That’s just the type of vibe she gives you. She had called me at my home after I dropped out of school and just talked to me. I found myself opening up to her and letting out all my grief. After a few phone sessions she convinced me to enrol back in high school and I did. With daily visits to Mrs. Welsh’s office I was able to graduate high school a few years later. Her coping techniques and guidance really opened up my mind and helped me grow up.

Mrs. Welsh made me realize something. Kyle had lived more than any of us in his few short years. He was so full of life. He never took a day for granted. I realized then he was an old soul and perhaps God took him because he had bigger plans for him. I know and believe that wherever Kyle is now he’s happy and he’s where he’s supposed to be. I will always miss him but at least I can go forward with him close to my heart knowing I will see him again someday.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.