Longevity logo

DIY:

Bath Salts and Scrubs

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

The benefits of using Epsom Salt are that eases stress and helps relax your body, it also helps reduce inflammation and draws out the toxins that are in our body. The benefits of using Sea Salt are that it helps treat, detoxify, and cleanse our body. Baking Soda is used because it also helps to detoxify and alkalize our bodies and soften our skin. Peppermint essential oil is good for calming our bodies and soothing our sore muscles. The olive oil is full of anti-aging antioxidants and it can soften your skin.

Ingredients

1 cup Epsom salt

1/2 cup Sea salt

1 tablespoon Baking soda

1 tablespoon olive or almond oil

5 drops peppermint essential oil

2 drops of food coloring (optional)

Instructions

In a bowl, mix Epsom salt, sea salt, and baking soda. Add the oil, peppermint essential oil, and the food coloring if you choose to. Mix with a fork until it is mixed well. Pour into a jar and cover.

I love making my bath products. This article is on the two scrubs that I have made and used. I gave these scrubs to my friends and family to try; they love it. They told me that it makes their skin soft. And if they didn’t like it, they would have told me why.

Ingredients

1 cup Brown Sugar

1/2 cup Sea Salt

1 tablespoon Honey

2 tablespoon Lemon Juice

2 tablespoon Olive or Coconut Oil

1 teaspoon Lavender Essential Oil

Instructions

In a bowl, mix all the ingredients. Store in an air-tight container. This is used to remove dead skin cells and moisturize your skin.

Lemon Sugar Hand Scrub

Ingredients:

- 2–2 1/2 cups of white sugar

-1/2 cup of coconut oil

- 4–5 tablespoons of lemon juice

- Vanilla Extract

Directions:

In a bowl, mix the sugar and coconut oil. Add the lemon juice and a few drops of the vanilla extract. In two small mason jars, divide the mixture into the jars.

For this recipe, you can also try the brown sugar. If you want a gentler scrub, use the white granulated sugar but for a stronger scrub, substitute the white sugar for the brown sugar.

When I made this hand scrub, I used coconut oil but you can also use olive or canola oil.

Homemade Lavender Scrub

I love making my own bath products. That way I know what is going on my body. This body scrub is free from harsh full chemicals. Most of the ingredients you will have in your kitchen which makes it easy to make. This scrub will leave your skin feeling fresh and your skin soft.

After making this scrub, I had to try It. I love the way it felt on my skin. I shook the jar and scooped some out and used it. It made my skin soft so there was no need for lotion. You want to pat your skin dry so you don't take off the oil that is in the scrub.

My mother tried it and loved it.

What is great about this recipe is that you can add or less of the ingredients. You can play with this recipe. I used sugar because I didn't have coarse sea salt. If you have the sea salt then you can use it instead of sugar.

Ingredients

2 cups Sugar

1 cup Olive oil

5 drops Lavender Essential Oil

1 Jar

Instructions

In a bowl, mix all ingredients together. Stir until mixed together then pour into a jar. Shake the jar. Use small amount then rinse off. Pat dry.

diy
1

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.