Longevity logo

Day One

First Day Is the Easiest

By Jae HeidePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

It is my first day that I am starting a new diet. Last time I did this I was in 6th grade so it's all very scary. I love myself, but at the same time I want to feel better and feel cute in my clothes. I have next to no plan but I have determination so that's good right?

What I'm finding so far is that the first day of any diet is always the easiest. It's easy to be optimistic, determined, and to make promises, but not so easy to follow through. For example, you can say you'll cut out carbs but by lunch, you'll forget. You may slip up and have a pizza pop or a grilled cheese, that means that you've already fallen off of the horse before the day is over.

I almost made the mistake of planning to have pizza pops before the day was up before I remembered. The only reason I remembered that pizza pops are carbs is that I told my boyfriend about my plan.

There's a lot about Kevin drives me absolutely crazy, and vice versa. I'll give him this though, he is always supportive of whatever it is I want to do. From following my dreams to be a writer, to losing weight, and any other crazy ideas I have. I know for a fact he is going to be the biggest factor in my success.

They say that it takes two weeks before you'll start to notice any change in yourself and four weeks before other people notice a change in you physically. So really it's going to be the first month that will be the hardest. I think a lot of people start a diet and expect to see immediate results but that is hardly the case.

I am prepared for a year and possibly even longer before I reach my desired goals of 120 lbs. The other thing people often forget to do is have a clear goal and a general plan. You don't have to have a solid plan right at the start because change and adaptation is a good thing. In the beginning you may think you've formulated the perfect plan, however, this is usually not the case.

My general plan is to up my work out time to start off with from 0 minutes to 30 minutes then as months go on I'll up the time even more. I've decided to cut out carbs because I eat a lot of spaghetti. I'll have a cheat day every two weeks and my goal is to lose 6.5 pounds every month at least which means I'll be at my goal weight in a year's time. 6.5 lbs doesn't seem like a lot to me but my opinion of that may change over time. A year seemed like a long time at first but then I remembered how quickly a year can go by. Also, a year of sacrificing my favorite foods for the opportunity to be a healthy weight, have bras that fit my cup size, not feel self-conscious about myself, and be light enough to be picked up and carried to bed would be amazing and completely worth it.

In order to keep track of the weight loss, I've invested in a scale. It's funny because at first, it seemed next to impossible to ever be the way I wanted but once I broke down the numbers and put in the initial work, it doesn't seem impossible at all.

So although the first day is the easiest, I feel unnaturally optimistic and ready to take on this new challenge in my life. I hope that by writing about this experience it will help me stay committed to my plan. I know if I can do this not only am I going to feel better about myself and more confident but I will also live longer and my other health issues will also get better.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.