Longevity logo

Day 3 - Learning to read tarot

January 16th 2023

By Jason Almirez-TaglianettiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

In this series, I’m learning to read the tarot by writing a daily journal and sharing my journey from the very beginning. I have been fascinated with tarot for quite a while and have always wanted to learn to read and to be more intuitive. As well as understand and trust my intuition more. I do all of this with respect for what has come before me and for those who have far more knowledge than I.

The deck I use for these readings is the Rider-Waite-Smith deck. While there are other decks with prettier images, the imagery, and symbolism is regarded as being a standard for tarot cards. The images seem perfectly designed for reading, understanding, and divining meaning. So if you’re thinking about learning to read as well, I would consider using a Rider-Waite-Smith deck. On to the reading.

Before pulling the card I first cleansed the deck with white sage. Just to clear the energy of the past few days. Next, I held the cards in my hand and meditated on the idea of learning from the cards. Setting my intention on education rather than guidance. The guidance from the past few days was nice and I am grateful for the message. And I’m glad that it happened right away with the first two cards I’ve pulled. But I also want to remove my ego a little from this. So I asked the cards to give me a card that I can write about and learn about the tarot with. I shuffled the deck three times and then did a sliding cut from my left hand into my right until a card fell out. The card fell out after just a few cuts. This is getting to be my shuffling routine and it feels very comfortable and natural. Anyway… todays card is the VI of Cups.

The card depicts two children in a village square or garden. One child holds a cup with leaves and a single white flower in it. She holds it to her face as if she is smelling the flower. There are five other cups in the picture all having leaves and a white flower in them.

The feeling I get from this card for me is very peaceful. Like a happy memory. It’s as if the child on the right has given this cup with a flower to her friend. And just like the cup in the image, this card too feels like a gift.

The number 6 represents caring and compassion. The cups are a symbol of water and emotions. Seeing the image of the girl smelling the flower reminds me that we attach memories to fragrance. I’m sure you’ve smelled a perfume or a flower and it brought back memories. This happens to me all the time. And I feel that this card is about happy memories and nostalgia. Also a card about reflecting on those happy memories. But it also indicates that because of those happy memories from our past, there will be a happy future as well. Things cannot be so bad, as long as you remember the simpler times. Like when you enjoyed a simple moment with a friend in a garden. Consider a happy memory you might have and let that feeling wash over you. Remember how you felt in that moment. Use that energy to bring a smile to your face and let it make it your day brighter and happier. When you do this you will find that you can bring happiness from your past into your present and create a happier future.

That’s my reading for today. Thanks for reading and being a part of this journey with me. If you liked today’s reading please leave a comment. Thanks again and have a great day.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Jason Almirez-Taglianetti

I'm an intuituve tarot reader studying the tarot and writing about my journey. To purchase readings please visit my livelogue site.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.