Longevity logo

Day 2

The Setback

By Not ImportantPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ever go to the park as a kid and play on the merry go round? I did. I also remember pushing the limits of the merry go round. Other kids would help push it faster and faster. How fast could it go, we wondered.

Those things could get going pretty fast, so fast I flew off.

Left with a mouthful of wood chips and feeling nauseated.

As soon as I heard that alarm, I rolled over and hit the snooze button faster than a woodpecker.

10 AM was later than I wanted my day to start. Feeling optimistic, I decided I wouldn't let that stop me. Unfortunately, when I left my bedroom my momentum shifted to a rather urgent bathroom visit. I felt like I had just flown off a merry go round, I was so nauseous.

My son has been under the weather the last few days, so I'm wondering if I'm catching whatever he has. Pushing through, I continued my workout, until I found myself running back to the bathroom sink.

"Nope, can't do it today," I mumbled under my breath.

That was the end of day 2.

Day 3 and 4: Unproductive

Resting is all I can do right now.

Counting steps for my "Global Challenge" app on my phone is the next best thing.

I've reached 9,000 steps since I've started, there are 14 days left in the challenge, and the goal is to reach 300,000 steps.

My step count would be higher but I keep forgetting to bring my phone with me during my dog walks—besides, I'm not the only one who could benefit from these walks. I've had to buy some larger size sweaters for my sweet Dachshund Chihuahua mix. Guess we both got out of shape during and after my pregnancy.

Taking it easy and taking advantage of lying in bed with my babies will come to an end here soon. I am truly determined to get back on that horse!

Day 5: Here we go.

I cringed at the sound of my alarm.

Rolling over to shut it off, I apparently had come to the conclusion I wasn't getting up to exercise today.

Continuing to sleep, I woke up an hour later feeling refreshed and energized.

Starting my workout session at approximately 8:30—not too early, not too late, I thought.

I put on a Shaun T's Hip Hop Abs Video. I debated for a minute whether or not I should step it up from the last work out or stick with the same one.

I was feeling bold today, so I choose the 30-minute workout over the 15 minute one.

Wanting more of a challenge, I was ready to get my sweat on!

The workout was more difficult than I expected, and the dance moves were hard for me—guess I'm not as limber as I thought. Hopefully, that will change after a few days of dancing with Shaun T.

I was staykeepingng up with the video for the most part but was unable to complete the last 5 minutes.

I felt pretty good with what I accomplished, so I didn't beat myself up too much over the last 5 minutes.

Guess I know what my goal tomorrow is going to be.

After my workout, I was out of breath and sweating like crazy.

Despite my legs feeling like jelly, I put my shoes on and geared up for a mile walk with my pup.

When I got back I reflected on my morning and felt really good about getting back on track towards reaching my fitness goals this year.

I will keep you posted on my step counter and continue my 14-day fitness trial right here.

Tune in tomorrow for more.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Not Important

Just Stories for the grandkids....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.