Longevity logo

Damp 2021

This will be a year of consistency in the gym.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

If my prescribed drugs would allow me to imbibe, I’d have a double Uncle Nearest Premium Whiskey every day of this first month of the new year. That doesn’t mean my mouth (or year, for that matter) will be dry, it’s just that the “damp” will be from my sweat, not my choice of beverage! Our family gifted ourselves a high-end stationary bicycle for Christmas. I’ve already charted a schedule to ride at least a half an hour, six days each week.

This is self-empowerment. Instead of rolling around the neighborhood, I can stay within the confines of my own home. Thanks to this advanced cycling system, I’ll be working on slimming down and looking fit this year. It allows me to link up with instructors all over the world, so I can cycle like I’m in the gym with them. As an overweight man, it will mean the world to me to sweat and knock off those pesky pounds.

My aim is to take my 225 pounds as of this writing in January and be at 200 pounds by June.

On this journey, my dad will be exercising with just as much if not even more enthusiasm and intensity. I’m going to turn into a bike itself. My legs will be the connecting rods of an internal combustion engine, and my feet the pistons. It will be impossible to tell where the bike ends and I begin.

The bike connects to a calendar, and messages I receive on the screen show my progress. I’ll be able to see the days I’ve cycled, and the calories I’ve burned. Each day will reveal more success.

Already, I wake up excited to get back “in the saddle,” and engage myself with advanced technology. Coupled with dietary changes, I’m confident my new routine will help me achieve my goals. I’ve tried this diet in the past, and it worked, but I slacked off for two years, and it showed. No more. This year, I’m taking my health and fitness more seriously. I bet I’ll even improve on my past results.

With so many different exercise routines and diets competing for our attention, energy, and money, it’s easy to get lost in all the marketing spin. Ironic then that the bike I’ve chosen will enable me to literally “spin” my way to a more toned and healthy body. Consistency is key, so I’m committed to my own success!

It’s easy to talk about being consistent with diet and exercise, so I have to make sure these thoughts extend from my brain to my body. I’m sure there will be days I feel tired, or lazy, or bored, but I’m ready for those too because I’m rational and realistic. I know the only way I will stick to my plan is if I anticipate things that could get in my way. Some days, my motivation may come from interactive personal trainers, but the motivation to pay attention to them must come from rational selfishness. I and I alone am responsible for the outcome (though I will say I’m glad I won’t be alone in the exercise room of our house).

Maybe the engine I imagine I am will be the one powering the lights of our house...I’ll enjoy the ride even more if I pretend my ability to see in the dark depends on my efforts. I will ensure that I keep a strong tower to keep up the mental might when it comes to days where I would want a whole pizza. I can only say that I will be able to continue the psychological and physical combination.

Yes, I think it will be a damp 2021 indeed.

fitness
3

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.