Longevity logo

being a key worker

from one

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

There has been a list given of people known as key workers during the corona virus. Some have complained its too long, I think it just shows how many people are key to keep the country going. I am a carer at a care community for adults with additional needs and learning delays. I will be working until either this ends or I get ill from it. I am not the only one by a very long way .

I live with my fiancé, her parents have underlying health problems and her dad is over 70. My parents are over 70 as well. I have to consider this and the risk I pose to them, yet still I work because others rely on me. Chances are I will avoid them for the initial 12 weeks that my work place is on lock down.

I will shop for myself and anyone else that needs it but cant find food or things they need. My mum told me today her local corner shop has been over run by people who have never used it before in order to hoard goods and stop local people getting what they need. I have also read some bin men have reported a massive increase in fresh food that's been thrown out unused, a result of the ludicrous panic buying.

Also key are the poor supermarket workers who have to try and keep shelves stocked while around them is pandemonium. Many getting abuse for lack of stock, this from the idiots that are causing shortages. In order to try and keep stock up lorry drivers are having their rules on rest breaks relaxed. This means they can deliver more stock quicker. problem is if they have an accident I doubt they will be treated any more leniently.

This leaves the health service, chronically underfunded for years and now with a pandemic to manage. retired staff are being rehired, volunteers are needed and they have to keep visitors away from their loved ones. They also have to deal with people going into hospitals to steal toilet rolls and anti bacterial hand cleaner.

Of course the main worry will be the acute risk they are put under by being almost exclusively working with people with a serious and very contagious illness. Some staff are leaving their families in order to keep them safe and to work on people that become ill. They work even more ridiculous hours then before, struggle to shop due to the hoarders and still risk getting ill.

There are of course the emergency services, people keeping the power and other utilities going, internet providers and others who need to work. The transport system needs to carry on so key workers can work. What we all need is people to listen to the government and stay home.

Don't treat this as an excuse to go to the beach or to congregate in parks. This disease will spread in any location , it just needs people close together. The government may have to introduce measures like those in France and other countries. If you are found out of your home for a non urgent reason then you get a large fine. Of course the ones to complain will be the ones that have proved that many people are to stupid to listen.

As it stands I will be not getting married as planned, the evening venue is closed and the location of the honeymoon is shut. I would love this to get sorted so I can do all these things safely and as planned. We need to get back to normality but at present the people not working think its a game. Unfortunately it will take either a version of martial law and/or many more deaths before its taken seriously.

Juts going out to the park or beach could mean you catch the virus, initially without knowing. You will pass it to between 2 and 3 people, who will pass it on the same and so on to you have infected hundreds. If any are key workers lives are at risk, crucial services will fail without staff and the situation will get worse.

humanity
1

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.