Longevity logo

At Burn Boot Camp, We Don’t Stop. We Modify.

Burn Boot Camp Exceeds Expectations Through COVID 19 Crisis.

By Haley PetersonPublished 4 years ago 11 min read
Like
All Photos from the Las Vegas Burn Boot Camp Facebook Page

Quarantine has affected people in different ways. Many have been laid off of work or transitioned to working from home. Other essential employees have continued working and have had to deal with significant adjustments. Some people live alone and have been isolated without family, while others are confined in a busy house with many people unable to continue usual routines.

Thankfully, quarantine hasn’t impacted my family’s daily life too much. I am a stay at home mom, my husband already works from home, and our three little ones are not suddenly adjusting to major changes in schooling. However, stay-at-home requirements of quarantine mean we can’t go to our gym, Burn Boot Camp. This may not seem like a big deal to many, but my husband and I both work out five to six days a week and really look forward to attending a daily camp. Our kids love coming with us to play in the kids area and socialize. Fitness is how I choose to maintain my physical and mental health, and the gym provides me with time to focus on myself and my personal goals. As the reality of quarantine set in, I was definitely concerned about how I was going to get through my days without my workouts and how it would affect my overall well-being.

What makes Burn Boot Camp so special?

The other special part of Burn Boot Camp is that it is a nationwide franchise and once you are a member at one Burn, you are welcome to work out at any Burn location. I had the opportunity to try out a few different locations while on a road trip last summer, and I can say that all of the locations had the same motivational feel and exceptional workouts. Owners of different Burn locations communicate in order to share new ideas to make Burn feel like our home even when we are away from home.

What has changed since quarantine?

Many parts of life have changed since our country has gone under quarantine. Luckily, Burn Headquarters as well as my local Burn Las Vegas location have quickly done their best to allow members to continue to reap the benefits of being a part of Burn Boot Camp. Before our location officially closed its doors, Burn Headquarters began offering daily workouts using YouTube for its members. Once our location closed, our trainers went above and beyond to make sure that as little of our routine would be affected as possible. While many things have changed at Burn, the parts of Burn that I love have remained the same. Continue on to find out how Burn has not stopped, but modified, in order to continue to meet the needs of all its members.

Burn now offers live workouts that are different each day.

Part of the reason I chose to join Burn is because I am not consistent with at-home workout programs. I have tried countless videos and routines, but I simply don’t enjoy them and quickly lose interest, two issues I’ve never experienced with the camps at Burn. When I found out my gym was closing and going virtual, obviously I was concerned that I would lack the motivation to continue my dedication to my exercise routine. I figured there would be pre-recorded videos posted on YouTube and I would try my best, but I doubted how well I would stick with them. Although I have had to make some adjustments, Burn has recreated its supportive environment through live workouts, making it easier to stick to my routine than I would have thought possible.

Facebook Live Workouts

From the day my gym closed, our trainers broadcasted Facebook Live videos so we could workout with them in real time. These workouts are live, but not really interactive aside from the trainers knowing who has logged on and members having the opportunity to send a chat during the workout. I would have never thought that being able to see my trainers and one or two members who I know personally completing the workout would make much of an impact on me, but it has really motivated me to show up for daily camps and to keep going during each workout.

The trainers also make the recording of the Facebook Live workout available all day so everyone can get their workout in even if they were not able to join during the live camp. I prefer doing the Facebook Live workouts in real time just to get that feeling that we are all in this together, but the pre-recorded video is still a huge step up from watching complete strangers do a workout that you are not very invested in. Just like in-person classes, every day the workout is different, and the trainers have come up with ways for us to use our body weight or common objects around the house to still get a great workout.

Zoom Workouts

After the first week, our trainers started using the program Zoom to share workouts as well. Unlike Facebook Live, Zoom is very interactive and uses devices’ cameras so all participants can see and hear each other. Trainers are able to see our form and help us individually correct or modify, just like at the gym in person, and they can motivate us personally throughout the workout. Currently my gym offers four Zoom workout times, one of which is also on Facebook Live and available for playback. Some members really like the Zoom workouts while others prefer Facebook Live. Having options has been awesome, and far beyond my original assumptions of what the virtual version of my gym would look like!

Other Workouts

Our location has also provided additional exercise videos including yoga and a stretch-and-recovery class. Burn Headquarters offers a dance-based Body Rock fitness class in addition to its own daily live and playback workouts led by founder Devan Kline. With Burn, everything is always new and changing. Before the gym closed I never had to repeat some boring workout, and the trainers have made sure to keep the at-home workouts just as new and unique. Everyone at Burn is always receptive to feedback and suggestions, so I won’t be surprised when they come up with something new to add to the mix.

Burn organizes virtual kids activities.

One part of Burn that I love is that it is a very female-focused gym. The majority of its members are women, and many of those women are moms. Because of this, children are always welcome and included in the Burn community. Engaging, safe, and clean childcare is included as a member benefit at all locations, and I know many kids, especially mine, really like going to the gym and playing with their Burn buddies. When Burn closed, it didn’t forget that the kids’ daily routine and community were affected too. I appreciate the ways Burn has included fun activities for my kids to look forward to each day, especially during a time when there seems to be little to look forward to. As a parent, I like having these activities available to break up the sometimes monotonous days we have had since being quarantined.

Kids Camps

Throughout the year, Burn Boot Camp offers Kids Camps so kids of all ages can get to see what camps are like for mom and dad. Since closing, now they have kids exercise videos on YouTube hosted by Burn Founders Devan and Morgan Kline with the help of their adorable four year old daughter. Exercises range from bear crawls and donkey kicks, to mountain climbers and burpees, as well as stretching, breathing, and dance. They play games like Red Light, Green Light and another where they jump over mom or dad. My toddlers love the camps, and they have been a great way to get their energy out, especially since they are stuck at home all day.

Activities on Zoom

Zoom with kids is so much fun because they love seeing their friends on the screen and, let’s face it, they love watching themselves! Knowing that the kids missed their Burn buddies, the trainers set up a kids chat on Zoom just so the kids could all see each other, and it was just adorable! Another activity our location trainers have created is a scavenger hunt where the kids run around the house finding random objects and completing small tasks. One of our trainers (who also happens to be a dance instructor) even led a dance class that was so much fun I jumped in too!

Storytime and Crafts

Before closing, the childcare at Burn always included a craft of the week for the kids to complete as well as time for books. Burn Vegas didn't want those activities to stop, so our location has kept them going virtually. Storytime is broadcasted by using Facebook Live, so the storytime host can see a list of viewers and talk to those kiddos in real time. This personal attention keeps kids engaged and excited. The craft videos have been great for the kids to follow along and make something they love. Also, storytime and craft videos are recorded and available to watch later if the kids aren’t able to tune in during the live broadcasts. These are activities my kids can look forward to and I can even use them as rewards for getting things done, like brushing teeth or cleaning up, a little bit faster. “Storytime is about to start,” really gets them moving!

Burn provides virtual trainer guidance.

At Burn, not only do our trainers coach us during our workouts, they also help us set nutritional goals and strengthen mindset. After the gym closed, I knew I would struggle in these areas without being able to talk to my trainers every day and I am sure other members would echo this concern. During my first two weeks of quarantine, I had a hard time prioritizing healthy meals over snacks and convenient options, and I didn’t have the motivation to work out consistently. However, anticipating and confronting these challenges of quarantine fitness were our trainers’ top priorities.

Motivational Trainer Talks

One thing our trainers started doing was sharing videos on different topics they felt we might need some help with. These included topics like staying motivated to workout at home, mindless snacking, clean eating with limited options, and self-care. Some of those topics might seem like something you can simply Google, but having personal help from the trainers we see everyday is much more effective. The video about mindless snacking was just what I needed to quit stress eating and get myself back to the good eating habits I had developed since joining Burn. The trainers are there to answer any questions in the comments, and they have been the extra push I needed to focus on my goals.

One-on-one Focus Meetings

A core component of Burn’s approach to fitness are focus meetings where trainers meet with you individually to record body measurements, track progress, and discuss fitness and nutrition goals. These focus meetings have taught me to be conscious of my eating habits as well as how to set goals and plans to reach them. Of course, meeting in person is not possible right now. However, Burn has been allowing us to schedule virtual focus meetings. When I met with my trainer through Zoom this week, we discussed my activities and eating habits and figured out what my next steps toward my goals should be. Aside from not taking body measurements, it honestly felt like meeting with her in person.

Burn continues to keep us connected as a community.

Although the gym is closed, they have found several ways to keep us together as a Burn family. Usually I try not to spend too much time on social media in order to be mindful of what is going on around me, but while being quarantined, social media can become a main way of staying in touch with others. I love that Burn has created a positive place to be online in a time where we can tend to feel inundated with negativity.

Using our Burn Member’s Only Facebook Page they have given us a schedule of activities with a variety of options to look forward to each day including workouts, coffee talks, kids activities, and more. We are encouraged to share a “Sweaty Selfie” to let other members know that we have completed our workout. Burn recognizes members’ birthdays and created a “Burpee Challenge” so we can time ourselves everyday and record how fast we are able to complete 25 burpees. They even started a “You’ve Been Egged” activity where members hide Easter eggs in each others’ yards and deliver a basket of goodies secretly on each others’ porches.

Burn has also allowed us to virtually check in to camps so we can still get credit for and keep track of every workout we complete. In person, Burn recognizes members for getting 50, 100, or 250 camps. They have continued recognizing these members during the Facebook Live workouts as well as posting about them online. It may seem silly, but seeing how many camps I have completed and having the 250 camp goal to meet by the end of the year really motivates me to keep attending camp each day. Even while being quarantined, there is no lack of love and support from our Burn family.

Final Thoughts

I recommend Burn Boot Camp to anyone considering a new gym. The Burn community cannot be matched and the workouts are incredibly effective. The ways that Burn Headquarters and local trainers have adjusted to quarantine, making themselves available in every way possible, demonstrates their commitment and dedication to their members' fitness and overall well-being. Obviously, I can’t wait to get back to the gym in person, but in the meantime, I am enjoying everything Burn has done for us. I’ll continue to feel the Burn at home so hopefully I can look forward to walking back into the gym even better than the day it closed.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Haley Peterson

I am a full-time teacher turned stay at home mom, and I have been loving every minute of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.