Longevity logo

Anxiety and Gut Health

My Plexus Experience

By Holly MooneyPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like

Let's clear the air here for a moment. It can become increasingly overwhelming to see people make CONSTANT posts on Facebook and other social media sites that have to do with promoting "life-changing" or self-marketing products. Once I have seen the same posts over and over again, I tend to tune out the testimonials and whatnot and move on to watching hilarious videos instead (you need to check out Darren Knight's "Southern Mama" if you haven't already!).

With that being said, let me tell you all about this product I have been using for a few months now!

(And, technically, this is not a Facebook post so I feel like I avoided some hypocrisy... but perhaps not by much lol)

I have been using Plexus products for over a year now. I have used a magnesium supplement called BioCleanse and a probiotic called ProBio5, but before I get into that, let me share testimony:

I was diagnosed with a generalized anxiety disorder (G.A.D.) back in late 2015/early 2016. I had my first major attack in September and was going downhill pretty quickly afterwards. Now, I cannot speak for everyone who may have an anxiety disorder as everyone's anxiety is different, but I will share how my anxiety affects my health and wellbeing in hopes that maybe someone out there can relate to what I go through. Whenever I get anxious (which usually happens when I am out of the comfort of my home), I begin to feel physically sick to my stomach. No, I do not get to the point of actually being sick, but the feeling can get pretty intense to the point where I fear I may throw up which makes my anxiety levels rise even higher. A vicious cycle, really. I have self-diagnosed myself with emetophobia (fear of vomiting) and nothing scares me more than thinking I will get sick and become a burden to myself and everyone around me. Also, no one truly enjoys throwing up in general, so even that fear alone is enough to trigger some nasty anxiety attacks.

Them: Now what on earth does this have to do with Plexus? Isn't it just a product to help people lose weight?

Me: Well, yes. Sort of. But through my experience, I can proudly say it is much more than a weight loss product.

Again, everyone's anxiety is different. Some people get headaches, trouble breathing, shakes and tremors, etc. My anxiety just happens to target my digestive tract. Not only do I get nauseous, but I can also have trouble with my bowels to the point where I assumed I had irritable bowel syndrome or IBS. (TMI, I know... but I'm just being open and honest). I was soon consumed with negative thoughts and a negative image of myself with each passing day.

I had heard of Plexus through my best friend because she signed up as an ambassador in early 2015. She mentioned a lot of good health benefits she was noticing through her own experience with the products, but of course that simply was not enough to get me on board. Another person I knew from church was (and still is) an ambassador and has an amazing testimony about her journey with Plexus. Again, I still wasn't completely sold on the idea of jumping in and trying the products. At the time, I did not (and still do not) need to lose weight, nor did I have any major health concerns. I did not like that the Plexus products were a bit on the pricey side, so as a poor college student, I politely declined the offers to try the products.

Then came the anxiety.

After months of riding the crazy rollercoaster of my mental wellbeing, I was desperate to try anything that could help ease my symptoms. Throughout my internet searches, I remembered Plexus and decided to look up the other ways the products could benefit one's health. I came across pages of testimonials, but one that stood out to me was the story of a young woman who suffered from G.A.D. and after being on Plexus for a few months, she no longer depended on medication and was living a normal life. Now, it may seem silly to some people, but all I desired was to live a normal life. I would count it as a success if I managed to shop for groceries or go out to the movies without having a random spurt of anxiety, so reading this woman's Plexus success story really set my decision to finally try the products.

Whew! Enough backstory, let's get to the good stuff!

As you now may have guessed, all of my issues boiled down to the state of my digestive tract. Despite my outer appearance, I am by no means living a Pinterest-perfect, healthy lifestyle. I grew accustomed to my poor eating habits and, as a result, my body was suffering from the inside.

Unhealthy gut = unhealthy mental state = unhealthy me. It was time to change that.

I signed up as an ambassador in early 2017 and decided to try Plexus. I did not join with the hopes to make money from selling the product. No, I only wanted to get the amazing discount that ambassadors get when ordering the products. After all, if I was going to be using this regularly, why wouldn't I sign up for the great discount. It was worth it!

As I said earlier, I take BioCleanse and ProBio5. The BioCleanse is a magnesium supplement which helps oxygenate and clean your gut/intestines from all the bad stuff that makes you feel... well, bad. The ProBio5 is a probiotic which introduces your body to multiple strains of good bacteria which also helps clean and refresh your gut. My doctor even recommended I take a probiotic to keep my IBS under control. I am so glad I heeded her advice!

Remember, the key to Plexus—or any health regimen—is consistency. This is NOT a miracle product that works overnight. Just like any long-lasting health experience, you need to stay consistent. Everyone's body is different, so while it may take Bob three days to notice a positive change, it may take Sally two weeks. You cannot compare your experience with someone else's.

With this thought in mind, I was determined to let the products work their way into my system for the next few months. I started my day with 1 BioCleanse capsule. At night, I would take one ProBio5 before bed; doing so has resulted in better sleep, so I always take the probiotics at night. Also, by only taking one pill of each a day, I get the most for my money which definitely is a plus!

In summary, I have noticed a positive change in my overall health. The combination of the products I mentioned above have definitely helped improved my digestive health and mental state. I am feeling normal, which to me is a huge blessing. Do I still have anxiety at times? Yes, but no where near as much as I used to. You have good days and bad days. That's just life. But it is amazing to look back with the satisfaction that I took the chance to try something that actually worked and has benefited my health so much.

With my Plexus experience, if you are struggling with health problems, whether it's weight, anxiety, digestive issues, diabetes, etc., I do recommend giving Plexus a try! I will be the first to tell you, yes, it is pricey. Some people will tell you, "Oh, but how much do you spend at Starbucks each day? How often do you get your nails done? The money you use for those things can easily be put towards Plexus," and so on and so forth. I am one of those people that do not require my daily cup of over-priced coffee, nor do I get my nails done, so those kinds of persuasive comments were not enough to get me on board with Plexus at first. What pushed my decision was hitting what felt like rock bottom (or close to it) and seeing the adversity within myself. Once I became desperate, I began to open my eyes to the possibility and hope of better health through products that have received high praise from ambassadors and doctors. Your experiences may be different. You might can afford to skip that coffee or nail/hair salon visit and save towards getting on the road to feeling amazing from the inside out. And that's great! I just want to be open and honest with my thought process throughout this personal journey, and that includes talking about the price. However, I am NOT discouraging Plexus. There have recently been some new products launched and positive medical research claims that just further prove how great this product is! It is continuing to change lives for the better, and I am proud to be a part of such a great company and team.

At the end of the day, I say go for it. Give it a try! If it means feeling a bit more energized naturally, losing stubborn weight, etc., Plexus has proved to work for me and I will optimistically say it can definitely work for you!

For a closer look at Plexus products and health information, go to www.shopmyplexus.com/hollyroper

product review
Like

About the Creator

Holly Mooney

Artist. Writer. Stargazer. Lover of simplicity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.