Education logo

5 Ways Being a Substitute Teacher Can Help You as an Education Major

So you want to become an educator? Are you sure?

By Holly MooneyPublished 6 years ago β€’ 5 min read
Like
How substitute teaching can help you on your education journey.

When I was in college, my end goal was to graduate with my BFA in Art Education. I enjoyed art classes all throughout high school and thought it would make sense to further study art and maybe teach in my own classroom someday. As an education major, I was required to gain "field experience" where I had to acquire 40 hours of classroom experience in a middle school or high school setting. The college set up our field experience locations and I went to 2 different schools and pretty much observed how the art teachers in those schools worked and managed their classrooms. As nice as it was to gain some insight of a real classroom setting, I never really took charge. I would just be there to help every now and again and sit back and watch how the teacher orchestrated the classroom. Later in my college experience, I decided to fill out my application to become a substitute teacher. After all, if I was going to be getting classroom experience, it would make sense to get paid, right? So without further ado, here are the 5 ways being a substitute teacher can help you!

1. It's easy to get started!

Many school systems are different when it comes to applications, but the process no matter where you go is pretty much a cakewalk. The school system in my home town was a city school, so I just filled out the application on their website and took a 4 hour orientation course. Later after I graduated from college, I decided to branch out to another school system and they required an online application as well as a 3 hour online training course AND a 2 hour in-person orientation. A bit more work, but it was worth it in the end. Once you are certified, you are on the substitute teacher list AND on the payroll.

2. You can choose when to work!

Let's face it, if you have a busy school schedule it can be hard to be devoted to a job (or an additional job if you are working already). The best thing about being a substitute is that if you are called by the school asking if you are available to work, you have the power to say "yes" or "no". It IS important to know that the more you say "yes", the better your chances are of getting called for more jobs, so don't abuse the power of "no" too much. But it is nice to know that if you are feeling under the weather or overwhelmed with classes, you do not have to work if you don't want to.

3. You get better experience as a teacher!

This is one of the best reasons to be a substitute teacher. As I said earlier, as nice as it is to have field experience in college, you really are not expected to take charge of the classroom. There is another adult present at all times and you cannot gain full classroom management skills. As a substitute teacher, you are the one in charge of the classroom, even if it is just for one day. This works out great for you because you soon discover your strengths and weaknesses as an educator. If you make a mistake or want to improve on a certain area in your classroom management skills, you can try again next time! A new day + a new classroom = a fresh start. And if you get called multiple times to the same school, you will become more accustomed to the classrooms and students. The students will begin to see you as another teacher and they will be familiar with your teaching style and classroom management.

4. You will have amazing support from fellow educators!

In the schools I taught at, it was so great to have a support group of fellow teachers. One of the first things that should be done as a substitute teacher is to introduce yourself to your neighbors. A brief and positive introduction is a great way to build professional relationships and it will let other teachers know that there is a substitute nearby and they can offer help if need be. I met many wonderful teachers during my time as a substitute teacher and was given many bits of solid teaching advice. The best way to learn and grow as an individual is gaining insight and wisdom from your environment and the people around you.

(It also helps get your foot in the door to a possible full-time teaching position. Build up a good reputation within the school system and teachers, and you just might get offered a teaching position!)

5. You may discover that this career path is the right path to take...or maybe it is not.

Earlier I said my end goal was to graduate with my BFA in Art Education. And I did. I hold my degree with pride and I am so happy I worked so hard toward a specific goal. I knew from the beginning that I was on the right path and was certain of the degree I wanted. However, despite how great the education and art classes were, it wasn't until I became a long-term substitute teacher that I was hit with the reality that I did not want to become a teacher. The experience I gained during that time, though wonderful, forced me to look inside myself and brought me to the realization that I truly did not want to become an educator. In college, I was looking at my future art teaching career through rose-colored glasses - I could decorate my classroom with art supplies and cool posters, I would have amazing art lessons, I would get summers off...it truly seemed like the ideal career. When my long-term sub assignment came to a close, I no longer desired to teach. It wasn't that I hated the experience, but it made me realize that even though it was fun in a substitute teacher setting, there was no way I could begin making it my career for the next 20+ years. The realization, though harsh, was much needed and I am so thankful for the long-term substitute teaching experience because it saved me from making the wrong career choice.

I have SO much respect for our educators. They go above and beyond each day and they truly care for our children and their futures. I am proud to have worked alongside them for a season, but they possess a passion that far surpasses any passions that I thought I had. I am grateful for all of the advice I received and I can honestly say that I am happy with where I am in life and it is because I gained so much insight during my time as a substitute teacher. To anyone out there studying education courses or aspiring to become a full-time teacher one day, I encourage you to consider being a substitute teacher! I can promise that the experience you gain is truly worthwhile!

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Holly Mooney

Artist. Writer. Stargazer. Lover of simplicity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.