Longevity logo

A Witches Belief

How the moon helps me think

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

12 hours ago I finally fell asleep. But, as always I was still awake. My mind always does something different to what my body wants it to and this night was no different.

Last night was a full moon, the second in the month and a beauty just the same. Many scientists believe that the reason 'Full Moon Insomnia' occurs, is due to the brightness of the moon keeping us awake longer at night. But, what about those who fill their rooms with darkness to sleep with blinds and black out curtains?

The spiritual belief is that people who cannot sleep during a full moon, are simply disconnected from their third eye; restless and in touch too much with their masculine energy. So in other words, be less of a King and more of a Queen.

Lying with your back firmly against the hard ground and taking deep breaths, can truly help you reconnect with your third eye and suddenly breathe softer and more sufficiently, helping you then release unnecessary masculine energy and affectively helping you to sleep. Unless of course like me you suffer with horrific pains in your back and knees so lying down then getting back up is a fat no no. Simply lying on your right side can also deeply help. However, if you suffer with acid reflux, I would advice against this and instead try the former.

Not everybody believes in spiritual teachings. Some people believe in science and others choose faith as their source of knowledge and comfort. Others would argue it isn't a choice but a path that we have been put on. I personally choose them all and stick my fingers up to 'regular societal acceptance.'

Of course their will be many sceptics thinking; ' How can you possibly choose them all when they contradict one another?'

However, I say to them eff your contradiction and listen to reason.

I believe spirituality, faith and science can and do all coincide next to each other. I believe that every spiritual feeling we have can be connected to a faith and often explained by a science. That every piece of science we understand and especially those we do not, can be connected to spirituality and faith. And, with every piece of faith we hold onto and believe in can often have a deeper spiritual meaning or be backed up by science.

The world of Doctors, Witches and people of faith do not have to be separated in society, In fact, history suggests one or two if not all of them can be connected to one another in some way.

Witches for example. Once upon a time; in a land much like ours but far jeffing nicer, a witch was not ridiculed, they were admired and trusted. Only the British then turned this practice and these people into the 'Nightmare' we all read about in school and during the witch trials, hundreds and thousands of people (almost always females) were killed because of one simple fact. Fear. (Of course, it wasn't only the brits that did this but by god we certainly know how to start something we can't finish)

That fear was deep seeded and in no way related to the bad that a witch can inflict on their enemies. But instead related to the power women were beginning to show after hundreds of years of suppression.

Of course, history speaks for itself and only proved to repeat this pattern several times over. But, we are only human, we never learn, we just keep screwing things up. (Sorry earth)

The connection of the spirit of a witch is deeply connected to both religion and science. A witch; as I mentioned above, was often trusted. This is because they would mix elixirs and potions that would help their community with fevers, hair loss, stomach aches, migraines and so on. Of course I don't have to explain the connection with science; witches were the first successful and trusted doctors of the world, creating and distributing medicine for loved ones and locals alike. (And of course a few hair loss spells I'm sure for some dickheads along the way)

So me, how do I fit into this. Well, I'm a mixture of it all. Some may argue I don't know who I am or what I believe. But, I would argue that actually, I am so comfortable with my own beliefs and who I am, that I give no shits about what others think.

I am however in truth, forever changing; as we all are. But, I have never been afraid to be several versions of myself.

There are however some statements about myself that will never change and to me are simply in me.

I do not believe in the traditional God.

I do not believe anything and everything can be healed by magic.

I do not believe science has the answer for everything.

So again, I go against every spiritual, faithful and scientific 'true' believer with these statements.

However, I do believe we have a maker of some sort and I believe in the type of magic I can make, feel, touch, hear and experience. This includes the use of oils, crystals, cards and my beloved crystal ball. I am also no fool to believe science can cure very little; history has proven that in fact science has helped mankind this far, so I would be a fool to say otherwise.

Overall, I am a witch. A witch that likes pretty flowers and the skulls of the once living. A witch that would scream for an epi in child birth and then rely solely on crystals and a spell for heartache. I would pray if I felt it could help but also never attend church because, that's just not me.

I'm a mixture of fuck up and goodness, rolled into one big (nowadays bouncy) ball of flesh.

I live, I laugh, I love, I hate, I cry, I weep, I break, I fix and most importantly; I believe.

spirituality
1

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.