Longevity logo

A Gentle Reminder That it’s ok To Talk about Women’s Health

Interview with Leda Toussaint

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

April is International Black Women’s History Month. We are highlighting phenomenal women making a difference. Today we had the pleasure of interviewing Leda Toussaint, owner of GNTLE. This brand helps women with sensitive vaginas find a true cleanse and symptom relief by providing a healthy alternative to feminine care without the harsh ingredients.

Leda' twelve-year background in medical science and passion for women's reproductive health laid the foundation to help launch GNTLE in 2018. Leda is currently working to help women "Go GNTLE" with the goal of dismantling the taboo stigma around women's health, bodies, and sexual wellness.

•Tell us about yourself. Where’d you grow up? Where do you live now? What was your childhood like?

First and foremost, thank you for having me. I’m excited about this interview, starting with the first question. Who am I? This question takes me back. I grew up in a crowded home with eight siblings and community activist parents on the Northside of Pittsburgh. Mom was extremely active in our school activities, and Dad- a junior Black Panther and Preacher, laid the groundwork for our spiritual lives. Yes. I‘m a preacher’s kid. Together, my parents did a wonderful job solidifying my identity as a young black woman in this world. I can honestly say my childhood was full of life and love with family, friends, and plenty of church.

My career in the medical sciences and a life of adulting moved me to Maryland where I now live with my wonderful husband. Fast forward to today, I am a scientist turned entrepreneur, where I help care for women with sensitive and overactive vaginas through my natural products and in-depth sexual health and wellness education.

• In 2016 April was established as International Black Women’s History Month. What does this mean to you? How do you feel your brand can make history?

International Black Women’s History Month means a continued conversation about how amazing black women are. Think about it though. In February we have Black History Month – this includes black women. March is Women’s History Month; this too encompasses the marvels of black women. In April, well we should just call it Black Girl Magic Month. Some people see this as having huge shoes to fill. I, on the other hand feel empowered to be part of such an elite group of super-sheroes!

History is not just about being the only or the first. History is about creating something that changes the landscape of the world moving forward. GNTLE is a lifestyle brand that pushes the boundaries on the conversation of sexual health and wellness. Every day I get the chance to educate and advocate for women’s vulvovaginal health so she can become her own advocate. To me, this is history in the making.

•Who do you feel is your target audience?

Without question, black women. Although feminine care is something that is important for ALL women, it is a known fact that big box feminine care brands intentionally target black (and brown) women with their toxic and hazardous ingredient feminine products. In all honesty, I was tired and fed up with the mediocre products and care. Black women deserve access to better personal care, safe hygiene options, and access to a pathway to total well-being. GNTLE is a resource that’s there specifically to provide access for the disenfranchised.

•What do you define as success?

Truth be told, success changes as I evolve as a person and with my business. Right now, impact is the measure of success. My goal is to change the way women think about how they care for themselves. When I get a DM that says, “I stop using my loofah on my vulva”, or “I decided to go commando and let her breathe” I recognize the mindset shift in these ladies. This is impact. This is success.

•What was the inspiration behind your brand?

There are a ton of women out there that feel isolated and trapped by their recurring vulvovaginal issues. I know this because I was one of them. The inspiration came from wanting to solve a problem for women like me, women with sensitive vaginas who could not find relief. I was privileged to have open and candid conversations early on that helped me decide to launch the brand.

•How do you differentiate your business from the competition?

The obvious difference is that GNTLE is the first Aloe Vera based feminine wash of its kind on the market. But on the not so obvious side of things, while other companies in the personal care space are heavily focused on just selling their products, GNTLE is focused on educating and equipping our clients and customers with the pertinent information regarding their sexual health and wellness. Not just educating through blogs and newsletters, but through livestream sessions, and in person events.

I always say I’m not new to this, I’m true to this. I can speak open and candidly with the ladies in the Tribe because I’ve been where they are. So, in short, there’s a personal connection and value I bring to the space for customers to make well-educated decisions about the products they decide to use.

•What has been your most effective marketing strategy to grow your business?

Believe it or not, offering the products on the Amazon platform has changed the game for GNTLE. Running Amazon sponsored ads and utilizing the tools available on the platform have exposed GNTLE to a ton more potential customers across the country, Canada, and Mexico. Amazon has even offered me a way to automate part of the business, which frees up some of my time. In full transparency, the learning curve for the campaigns/ads have been pretty steep but it has been worth it, nonetheless. If anyone out there is thinking about starting on Amazon and you have questions, let’s talk.

•What's your best piece of advice for aspiring and new entrepreneurs?

OMG, I have so many nuggets I’d like to share, but here’s one I wish I heard at the beginning of my journey. Just start. None of us knows exactly what we are doing. As entrepreneurs, we are figuring everything out as we go. When you're passionate about what you are doing, the people with the right information ALWAYS SHOW UP.

•Who is your business role model? Why?

This is a great question. I’d have to say Beyonce & Richard Williams (Serene & Venus William’s Father). If you didn’t pay attention to the boss moves Beyonce did with Beychella, or you haven’t seen the movie King Richard, stop what you are doing and go check those out!

Both business moguls have legacy as their foundational goals. As a community I think we talk a lot about generational wealth without giving real life examples of what that looks like. Queen Bey and Mr. Williams are living, breathing examples of the work and effort it takes to create a legacy that the generations after them will benefit from. Talk about boss moves and #Goals.

•What do you have planned for the next six months?

Listen, the next six months is all about the GNTLE upgrade. From our new packaging look, to welcoming our new monthly subscribers to the GNTLE Lady Tribe, our community and customers will experience a whole new GNTLE vibe. I can’t give it all away but let’s just say wellness retreats are coming soon as well.

Come meet me over on Instagram @gntleladywash to stay up to date on all things GNTLE. I also host a weekly Instagram Live segment called “Girl Talk Tuesday” at 8 pm EST. I’m always there answering questions about our natural feminine washes. It’s an overall safe space for women to come together to talk about all things womanhood. I can’t wait to meet you there.

self care
Like

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.