Longevity logo

5 Ways To Manage Your Diet For Diabetes

The “rules” that I would lay down are as follows

By JohnyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Get the instant way to control Diabetes

Since I was diagnosed with diabetes at the age of 11, my diet has changed a lot. I maintain my current healthy weight with a great diet / nutrition plan. If you plan to lose a stone or so, I will ask your doctor for more tips on how to do it without danger.

I have been suffering from diabetes for 7 years and it is completely wrong to say that the way to maintain weight is perfect. However, I know what works and what doesn't, so I recommend following my steps. Before I actually start, I must say that I was raised by great parents who taught me to eat anything, and I do! If you don't like it, thank you for eating many other diabetes recipes and ideas.

I'm a student and I like to buy fresh organic products from where I live. I think this is important because it is perfect for your body and contains more nutrients and vitamins than most supermarket products. I like to procure groceries from the town's bi-weekly farmers markets. It sells great meats and dairy products, as well as fresh seasonal fruits and vegetables. This is another important thing to remember. Eating fruits and vegetables during the season not only improves the taste, but also means that you are delicious. As you can see, I'm heavily influenced by Western European food (mainly France and Italy), but I'm not a chef and everything is easy to prepare and very convenient.

I read countless diet books and diabetes recipes / diet books and came to the conclusion that I think it really works. I fused all the good things from the diet (not all the diets) and made it myself, so to speak. I call this my healthy diet for juvenile diabetes!

There are 5 rules to manage your diabetes

1. Reduce the number of treats and then change the type of treats you eat.

It's certainly my biggest depression, but I didn't really notice it. When I entered college, I had little daily life, so it was difficult to fill the day and go to the kitchen for a light meal, no matter how healthy the recurring event was. This is one of the most difficult tasks for some people, but good routines are essential for good diabetes treatment. The types of snacks to be eating are unsalted nuts, dried unsweetened fruit, fresh fruit, fresh vegetables (I love fresh red pepper and cucumber), dark chocolate (richer and nicer and you only want 2 squares usually).

Get the instant way to control Diabetes

2. Cut back on white flour and embrace wholemeal carbs.

This is the most essential part of your diet, and the thing that can show the biggest increase in loss of weight. Some diets in fact just focus on this point, and are very successful. Wholemeal (especially stone ground wholemeal) is so good for you and has so much more flavor in it that switching is much easier than you think. Most people are really surprised at the ranges you can get in you supermarket, again remember that the bread that is best for you is the one that is freshest with least preservatives or added ingredients. Also, brown or Basmati rice is great with a lovely nutty texture. Wholemeal pasta is great and for your potatoes I would totally recommend the smaller new potatoes.

3. Stop drinking cocktails and start drinking wine.

Cocktails are full of sugar, colors and preservatives. When I was a college student, I practiced going out without drinking cocktails, so if I wanted to drink it, I like Malibu and Diet Coke, and I can drink it all night. Then replenish with diet coke (almost no sugar) and it looks like you're drinking Malibu, which you know. When you're in a restaurant, red wine is far better than anything else you can order (except water, of course!) And the antioxidants in red wine have been shown to be great for maintaining a healthy heart. I am. The recommended amount is one cup a day with dinner.

4. Start cooking more fruits and vegetables.

Fresh fruits and vegetables are a great way to get all the vitamins and minerals you need. There are many ways to cook vegetables, but I think raw is the best, followed by steamed food. Both trails retain the goodness of nature. I will follow this post with another diabetes recipe post.

5. Drink more water.

As you've heard this many times, the benefits of drinking more water are endless. A few tips on how to get more water into your day are firstly to put bottles of water at all the places you go in the house or work. So keep one in your desk, on your desk, a glass in the kitchen, the bedroom, the sitting room, etc. Try and drink all these glasses up and you will be well on your way to 8 glasses a day. The trick is to add a glass every few days or so, if you try to drink all that water in one go you won`t be so inclined to drink 8 glasses again, trust me! Have a go, it`s amazing how great you will feel.

" Get the instant way to control Diabetes"

diet
1

About the Creator

Johny

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.